Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What happens when you discard a creature(with Undying) from your hand to the graveyard? Does it go to the Battlefield (without summoning sickness)?

And what happens if I use Mulch and put all Undying creatures in the graveyard? The same?

share|improve this question
    
Good question, welcome to the site! :D –  Gordon Gustafson Mar 7 '12 at 2:32
add comment

1 Answer

No, sorry.

The fine print on the cards tell us what we need to know:

Undying (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control with a +1/+1 counter on it.)

"Dies" refers to "goes to the graveyard from the battlefield." Thus, a creature card that is placed into the graveyard from any other zone doesn't trigger undying.

Since Undying doesn't say anything specific about "summoning sickness" or haste, the regular rules apply. Namely:

302.6. A creature’s activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can’t be activated unless the creature has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can’t attack unless it has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the “summoning sickness” rule.

It doesn't matter where the creature came from: if it didn't start the turn no the field under your control, it still has "summoning sickness".

share|improve this answer
    
Thank you for anwsering and explain me so well! Big thanks! I think now I have to think again about some ideas on the deck I was making. :( –  Carlos Mar 7 '12 at 1:49
1  
Also, welcome to the site. –  Alex P Mar 7 '12 at 1:51
    
You might also add that going to any zone from the battlefield except the graveyard doesn't constitute dying as well. For example, exiling a creature wouldn't allow it to come back with the counter. –  DForck42 Mar 7 '12 at 21:59
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.