Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm playing Two-Headed-Giant and have a creature with metalcraft. I control 1 artifact and my teammate controls 2. Does my creature's metalcraft ability 'trigger'?

I know metalcraft says "if you control 3 or more artifacts", but since THG obscures the idea between player and team so much I'm having trouble figuring our what 'you' refers to in this case.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

In a word, no.

Players do not share control of permanents in Two-Head Giant.

In addition, with the exception of "attacking player" and "defending player," all of the referents in THG are the same as regular Magic. "You" is you. "Target player" and "target opponent" refer to a single player. "Your opponents" are two players, individually.

Here are the relevant comp rules:

810.5. With the exception of life total and poison counters, a team’s resources (cards in hand, mana, and so on) are not shared in the Two-Headed Giant variant. Teammates may review each other’s hands and discuss strategies at any time. Teammates can’t manipulate each other’s cards or permanents.

810.7b Any one-shot effect that refers to the “defending player” refers to one specific defending player, not to both of the defending players. The controller of the effect chooses which one the spell or ability refers to at the time the effect is applied. The same is true for any one-shot effect that refers to the “attacking player.”

Any characteristic-defining ability that refers to the " “defending player” refers to one specific defending player, not to both of the defending players. The controller of the object with the
characteristic-defining ability chooses which one the ability refers to at the time the nonactive players become defending players.

All other cases in which the “defending player” is referred to actually refer to both defending players. If the reference involves a positive comparison (such as asking whether the defending player controls an Island) or a relative comparison (such as asking whether you control more creatures than the defending player), it gets only one answer. This answer is “yes” if either defending player in the comparison would return a “yes” answer if compared individually. If the reference involves a negative comparison (such as asking whether the defending player controls no black permanents), it also gets only one answer. This answer is “yes” if performing the
analogous positive comparison would return a “no” answer. The same is true for all other cases that refer to the “attacking player.”

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.