Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can a card cast using its flashback ability be countered by a spell such as Cancel?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

Yes. The only thing that flashback modifies is where the spell is being cast from when paying it's Flashback cost before being put on the stack, and where it goes when it leaves the stack if its Flashback cost was paid.

702.31a Flashback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities: one that functions while the card is in a player’s graveyard and the other that functions while the card is on the stack. “Flashback [cost]” means “You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost” and “If the flashback cost was paid, exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack.” Casting a spell using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e–g.

share|improve this answer
Note the remark about 'exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else' - countering a spell cast with Flashback will always exile it, no matter what the countering effect says to do with it. Venser, Shaper Savant won't return it to its owner's hand, Spell Crumple won't put it on the bottom of its owner's library, etc. – Steven Stadnicki Mar 14 '12 at 19:16

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.