Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In a recent sealed queue I entered, my opponent had a Soul Seizer on the board, and a Cackling Counterpart in his hand. Soul Seizer has the following ability:

When Soul Seizer deals combat damage to a player, you may transform it. If you do, attach it to target creature that player controls.

What would happen if my opponent targeted the Soul Seizer with his Cackling Counterpart, and then damaged me with the token?

share|improve this question

From this official article on double-faced card rules:

If an effect copies a double-faced card, it copies the characteristics of whichever face is currently showing. It doesn't copy any characteristics of the other face.

The only objects that can transform are cards that physically have two faces. If a token or a card with a regular Magic back is instructed to transform, instead nothing will happen. Even if a token or non-double-faced card is a copy of one face of a double-faced card, it can't transform.

If your opponent used his Cackling Counterpart to copy a Soul Seizer, he'd better hope he had a good use for a plain old 1/3 Flyer, because that's all he was going to get!

share|improve this answer
As to the Comprehensive rules, it's 706.8 (which is really just a specific case of 711.3): "When copying a double-faced permanent, only the copiable values of the face that‘s currently up are copied." – Circeus Mar 18 '12 at 17:48

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.