Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What happens when an undying creature dies being dealt damage by a creature with first strike in a combat?

For example:

If Nearheath Stalker blocks an Abattoir Ghoul and dies will he deal combat damage after returning to the battlefield? Will Abattoir Ghoul die after this battle?

share|improve this question
    
Welcome to B&CG! –  Pat Ludwig Mar 21 '12 at 20:52
    
For the same reasons, if the Abattoir Ghoul had somehow gained double strike, it wouldn't kill both the pre-destruction and post-destruction Nearheath Stalker creatures. –  ikegami May 24 '12 at 16:47

3 Answers 3

up vote 10 down vote accepted

No, the creature returned to the battlefield by undying is considered a new creature because it changed zones (two times, from battlefield to graveyard and then back from graveyard to battlefield). It's not in combat, and won't deal combat damage to Abattoir Ghoul.

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are seven exceptions to this rule:

This rule has some exceptions, but undying isn't one of them.

share|improve this answer

No, dead creatures are removed from combat. They are no longer attacking/blocking creatures when combat damage is assigned or dealt.

506.4. A permanent is removed from combat if it leaves the battlefield, [...] A creature that's removed from combat stops being an attacking, blocking, blocked, and/or unblocked creature. [...]

510 Combat Damage Step

510.1. First, the active player announces how each attacking creature assigns its combat damage, then the defending player announces how each blocking creature assigns its combat damage. [...]

share|improve this answer

Your Stalker won't be dealing any combat damage this turn. When a creature changes zones, it is removed from combat. (In addition, any time a creature leaves the battle field and comes back it is considered a new game object in terms of the rules. It generally has no memory of its previous state, such as "I was blocking that.")

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.