Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I was to play 2 Sidewinder Slivers would the 'All Slivers have flanking' ability stack causing creatures blocking my Slivers to get -2/-2 until the end of the turn or would it gain flanking twice but the second instance has no effect so creatures blocking my Slivers only get -1/-1 until the end of the turn?

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 9 down vote accepted

Flanking is a triggered ability, so it can trigger separately for every instance of the ability that the creature has. This is ever so slightly different than just giving -2/-2. When your creature is blocked two abilities go on the stack, each one to give the blocker -1/-1. The end result is indeed that the blocker ends up with -2/-2, but there are some various corner cases you could create with certain cards where it matters!

NB: You can tell it's a triggered ability because it starts with the magic words "When, Whenever, or At."

share|improve this answer
add comment

Each instance of Flanking triggers separately. After the stack resolves, creatures blocking will have -2/-2 until end of turn.

The Rules:

702.23. Flanking

702.23a Flanking is a triggered ability that triggers during the declare blockers step. (See rule 509, "Declare Blockers Step.") "Flanking" means "Whenever this creature becomes blocked by a creature without flanking, the blocking creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn."

702.23b If a creature has multiple instances of flanking, each triggers separately.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Yes.

Each sliver will have 2 instances of Flanking. Since those are triggered abilities, each instance will trigger, go to the stack, and resolve separately.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.