Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When you begin play and randomly hand out the start worlds, do you shuffle the remaining start worlds into the deck?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

Yes: per the Setup section of the rulebook:

Find and shuffle the five start worlds. Deal one world face up to each player. These form each player’s initial card tableau.

Shuffle the unused start worlds together with the game cards. Deal six face down cards to each player. Each player then examines these cards and discards two cards face down to the discard pile. The remaining game cards form the initial card supply.

[Bolded by me for emphasis.]

share|improve this answer
Note that as you add expansions, fishing the start worlds back out of the deck after you play becomes a bigger pain in the rear, so sometimes my group just skips this part and leaves the extras out for expedience. – jjb Apr 3 '12 at 21:40
My group eventually put card sleeves on the cards, and used different-colored card sleeves for the starting cards. We really didn't like hunting through the deck for the starting cards. – Paul Marshall Aug 24 '12 at 0:51

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.