Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I was reading the untap step rule and got confused a bit. It says:

502.2. Second, the active player determines which permanents he or she controls will untap. Then he or she untaps them all simultaneously. This turn-based action doesn't use the stack. Normally, all of a player's permanents untap, but effects can keep one or more of a player's permanents from untapping.

If "a player determines", can I determine not to untap all my permanents?

share|improve this question
1  
Very good question - the idea is actually not uncommon. –  Ian Pugsley Apr 2 '12 at 15:28
    
See Giant Oyster for an example of this rule being overridden by a card. –  ikegami May 24 '12 at 16:44
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 25 down vote accepted

You do not get to choose whether or not to keep a permanent tapped during the Untap Step of the Beginning Phase unless a specific card's ability provides that choice.

The word "determine" in this context does not mean choose, it means to evaluate whether or not there are any abilities preventing a permanent from untapping, and evaluating the decision to untap should an ability provide that choice. As the rule states:

Normally, all of a player's permanents untap.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Actually the answer is in the text you posted:

Normally, all of a player's permanents untap, but effects can keep one or more of a player's permanents from untapping.

So, no, a player cannot chose which permanents to untap during that step, unless an effect makes it so.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.