Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Jenga, when you are moving your block out and another block next to it moves, are you allowed to push the other block(s) back?

share|improve this question
    
Welcome to B&CG SE! –  Alex P Apr 5 '12 at 17:59
add comment

1 Answer

According to the official 2000 version of the rules:

As play proceeds and the weight of the tower shifts, some blocks become looser than others and are easier to remove. You can touch other blocks to find a loose one — but if you move a block out of place, you must fix it (using one hand only) before touching another block.

Since this rule includes the proviso before touching another block I take this to mean that you can't touch blocks after you have started to remove your block.

I believe it would be within the spirit of the rules that you could try and replace the block you started to remove, then try and remove the block you disturbed.

The key is that you can only touch one block at a time with only one hand.

share|improve this answer
    
I don't think you are interpreting the rules correctly. All that is saying to me is "you can only use one hand" and "you can't end your turn with a block half sticking out. You must fix it" –  Andrey Apr 6 '12 at 15:27
    
You must fix it before touching another block. It's pretty clear you can only manipulate one block at a time. What did I get wrong? –  ghoppe Apr 6 '12 at 22:26
    
"The key is that you can only touch one block at a time with only one hand." I think it is fine to touch other blocks as long as you do not move them. –  Andrey Apr 9 '12 at 13:11
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.