Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Treasure Map text says:

Trash this and another copy of Treasure Map from your hand. If you do trash two Treasure Maps, gain 4 Gold cards, putting them on top of your deck.

If I manage to play both Treasure Cards as actions, do they both activate their full effects? That is: do I get 8 Gold cards?

Or, the moment I play the first, I have to trash the other one so preventing it for being played as an action?

share|improve this question

You play the first, performing its action of trashing itself and the second Treasure Map and gain 4 golds. You can't continue to play the second Treasure Map since it's no longer in your hand.

You also can't use Throne Room to gain more than 4 golds since the text states "If you do trash", and you can only trash a card once (I also tested on isotropic to make sure)

share|improve this answer
Thanks. That's was my impression too. Good catch about the Throne Room. – Erik Burigo Apr 6 '12 at 11:36
But, with three treasure maps and a throne room, you could throne the first and thrash the other two, gaining 8 golds? – Konerak Apr 7 '12 at 12:02
@Konerak: No, because the "if" clause only triggers if you trash two Treasure Maps. The first time you play the original TM, you would be able to do so. The second time, though, the original TM has already been trashed; you would therefore trash the remaining TM from your hand but not gain the Golds, because you hadn't trashed two TMs during that play of the original TM. – philosophyguy Apr 8 '12 at 1:21
There are other cards whose abilities aren't affected by Throne Room. For example, Goons's +1 Victory token per card bought ability. – Powerlord Apr 10 '12 at 17:48
Now, if your hand is Village and 4x Treasure Map, then you can gain 8 Gold on top of your deck. – GendoIkari Apr 13 '12 at 14:38

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.