Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm a little unclear on the wording of the Flames. What does "Empty" mean? Does it ignore mountains? Shields? I'm fairly certain it ignores troops.

Side question (maybe this should be a separate question?!) can Flames travel through the Great Brass Pipe?

share|improve this question
up vote 1 down vote accepted

Empty does not mean "needs 2 critters to conquer" it means without monster or race tokens.

From the rules, bottom of page 9

A Region is deemed non-empty if, and only if, it contains at least one Monster or Race token (Active or In Decline). A Region that contains a Black Mountain marker, a Popular Place or a Righteous Relic but no Monster or enemy Race token is considered empty.

The Great Brass Pipe considers spaces adjacent for the purposes of the owning race, so Flames should be continuous through it. This is confirmed in the FAQ.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.