In the game of Hive, envision the following sequence of turns to start the game:
- White plays Beetle
- Black plays Queen
- White moves Beetle on top of Queen
At this point, Black cannot lay any pieces, since every potential spot on the Hive touches White, and Black's only played piece (the Queen) cannot move since it is covered by the Beetle.
I know the rules say that if one side cannot move, then the other player continues to play until the game ends or until there is a legal move for both players. Is this just a degenerate version of that scenario, and White wins in a ridiculously fast manner by placing all of its pieces around the Beetle/Queen stack?