Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was a little worried that my theoretical maximum Carcassonne score of 338 points might be in error if it was possible to score multiple completed roads during the same turn.

The rules say you place Thieves on a road segment:

Road Segment

The player who has a thief on a completed road scores one point for each tile in the completed road (count the number of tiles; separate segments on a tile count just once).

How many points can a Thief placed on this Road Tile score?

Quad Tile Thief

Am I correct in believing that you have to choose a segment to one side of a crossing, and therefore you can only score 2 points here?

share|improve this question
The other part of the rules that would've reassured you is the bit about only placing one follower per turn, and of course only scoring for what you put followers on. – Jefromi May 23 '12 at 20:03
up vote 12 down vote accepted

That is my understanding of the rules. You could still score 8 points if you previously placed thieves on three of the road segments leading into the tile of course.

share|improve this answer
Yep, that's correct - you only score for the road you place your thief on, which would mean from the image in the question that the thief placed would score only 2 points, as all completed roads are only 2 tiles long. – Nick Shaw May 23 '12 at 15:02
Correct, but with the ghost expansion you could claim two of the roads. – sixtyfootersdude Feb 28 '13 at 22:08

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.