Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I was playing a clunky Gamekeeper build of mine against a Legacy Reanimator deck when the following situation occurred:

I had a Leyline of the Void in play (don't know if it's relevant). I had a Gamekeeper in my own graveyard which my opponent reanimated with Animate Dead. I destroyed the Gamekeeper with a Slaughter Pact.

Who gets to use Gamekeeper's ability?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Your opponent. Leyline of the Void has no bearing in this situation, because the Gatekeeper is going to your (its owner's graveyard).

400.3. If an object would go to any library, graveyard, or hand other than its owner’s, it goes to its owner’s corresponding zone.

When an object refers to you, it means its controller.

Card Text: When Gamekeeper dies, you may exile it. If you do, reveal cards from the top of your library until you reveal a creature card. Put that card onto the battlefield and put all other cards revealed this way into your graveyard.

109.5. The words “you” and “your” on an object refer to the object’s controller, its would-be controller (if a player is attempting to play, cast, or activate it), or its owner (if it has no controller). For a static ability, this is the current controller of the object it’s on. For an activated ability, this is the player who activated the ability. For a triggered ability, this is the controller of the object when the ability triggered, unless it’s a delayed triggered ability. To determine the controller of a delayed triggered ability, see rules 603.7d–f.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.