I've exiled my commander using Mimic Vat. Do the tokens it creates from it deal commander damage?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
No. The Commander rules state (CR903.3) state: "[Being a commander] is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones." and drives the point home with the last example: "A permanent that's copying a commander (such as a Body Double, for example, copying a commander in a player's graveyard) is not a commander."
No, it is an at attribute of the card itself, not a characteristic that is copyable. From the Mtg Comprehensive Rules:
A cards characteristics are: