Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

My opponent attacks with a 3/3. I block with my 1/1 Llanowar Elves, and have all of my land tapped from my last turn. Can I now tap my Llanowar Elves after it has been declared as a blocker to play Giant Growth on it, make it 4/4 until end of turn, and destroy my opponent's attacking creature when damage is dealt?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

Yes, this works just fine. Once a creature is declared as a blocker, it remains a blocker until it is specifically removed from combat (e.g. Regeneration) or the battlefield (e.g. Cloudshift).

One thing to note: once a creature is blocked, it remains blocked even if the blocker is removed before damage is dealt. This works great against lifelinkers, since they deal no damage to a creature that is no longer there. It works less well on tramplers, since they just deal all their damage to the player instead.

share|improve this answer
I am not 100% sure on the latest rules of magic but, do tapped blockers deal damage? I know there was a point in the game when they did not. The question specifically asks this – Andrey Jun 14 '12 at 13:26
Tapping a creature that is blocking does not remove it from combat or prevent any damage. This was settled in the 6th Edition revision, around 1999 I believe. – Hyppy Jun 14 '12 at 14:23
In previous editions the Llanowar Elf in this situation would have not dealt damage (but would have survived). Would have become effectively a 0/4 creature. – Yaztromo Jun 21 '12 at 20:24

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.