Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a question about a specific scenario involving life loss and gain.

Say I have 3 life left, the creature Soulcage Fiend on the battlefield, and also the enchantment Exquisite Blood on the battlefield.

Now say my opponent kills Soulcage Fiend with some instant, would I lose the game? Or does the gain of life happen first, keeping me at 3 life when all is said and done?

share|improve this question
    
It's worth noting that in this scenario you don't gain and lose life at the same time. First you lose the life, then only later, you gain the life (if you haven't already lost). –  David Z Jun 19 '12 at 19:36

1 Answer 1

up vote 8 down vote accepted

The word "whenever" usually means that the card triggers, which goes on the stack.

From the Oracle Text for Exquisite Blood:

If you and an opponent both lose life simultaneously, and this causes your life total to become 0 or less, you'll lose the game before Exquisite Blood's triggered ability can resolve.

You would lose the game.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.