Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

For example, if my hand is empty and I draw and reveal Temporal Mastery, can an opponent cast Funeral Charm and make me discard it before I have a chance to cast it for its Miracle Cost?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 11 down vote accepted

Yes. Miracle triggers upon revealing the card when you draw it. You cannot cast the card until the triggered ability resolves and you pay the cost. Until that time, the card is in your hand and subject to the effects of discard.

702.92. Miracle

702.92a Miracle is a static ability linked to a triggered ability (see rule 603.10). "Miracle [cost]" means "You may reveal this card from your hand as you draw it if it's the first card you've drawn this turn. When you reveal this card this way, you may cast it by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost."

702.92b If a player chooses to reveal a card using its miracle ability, he or she plays with that card revealed until that card leaves his or her hand, that ability resolves, or that ability otherwise leaves the stack.

share|improve this answer
    
Won a game once by using Surgical Extraction on Bonfire of the Damned in response to my opponent revealing a second Bonfire. Good times. –  Alex P Jul 26 '12 at 22:33
add comment

It depends on whether the Miracle card is a Sorcery or Instant

It would be correct to say: Your opponent can make you discard a Miracle card before you can cast it for its Miracle cost, as user1873 already pointed out.

If the card is a sorcery, you can't usually play it outside the main phase or with a non-empty stack, so for your specific example, he could make you discard before you can cast it in any way.

If it's an Instant, however, you can still play it for its regular cost in response to the Funeral Charm.

share|improve this answer
    
Indeed, I was wondering about paying the Miracle Cost. I have clarified the question to reflect that. –  user1873 Jun 29 '12 at 15:48
1  
If you are casting it as a Miracle the Avacyn restored FAQ says specifically that you ignore timing restrictions. I am not sure the Sorcery vs Instant applies to this question. Restored FAQ –  Akedren Jun 30 '12 at 18:46
1  
@Akedren We already established that the Charm is faster than the Miracle alternative cost. The original question asked whether the card can be played at all, and if the Miracle card is an Instant, it can be played for its regular cost rather than its Miracle cost, in response to the Charm. You can choose between Miracle and regular cost, you are not forced to play it for its Miracle cost if you reveal the card. –  Hackworth Jun 30 '12 at 19:42
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.