Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In a recent game of Puerto Rico, I had a Factory with a colonist on it, and I had manned plantations and production buildings to produce four different kinds of goods. However, when the Craftsman was taken, by the time it was my turn to take my production all but one of the supply piles was exhausted, and I was only able to take one barrel.

In this case, do I still get the +3 doubloon bonus from the Factory since I could produce four types of goods, or do I not get any bonus since I only did take one?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

No bonus is received.

You only get credit for what you produce. See the rules, page 10. The answer is clear within the Example for the factory.

share|improve this answer
That is pretty darn clear. The person holding the rulebook in our game didn't notice the example for some reason, and so we ruled that I got the bonus anyway. – JSBձոգչ Jul 22 '12 at 21:43
@JSBձոգչ That happens, writing rules that are clear is hard and even if a designer succeeds some folks will have blind spots about certain things! – Pat Ludwig Jul 22 '12 at 22:43

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.