Me and my friends were playing Axis and Allies: spring 1942 and one player placed an industrial complex on a country and then placed their units there, in the same turn. We looked through the entire rule book and we couldn't find it. We looked under the section for placing units and the appendix for Industrial Complex. Are you allowed to to this in Axis and Allies?
No, you cannot use industrial complexes you captured or purchased this turn. You must have missed it, top of page 22.
Hey I just wanted to add to this question to say that I have an older version of Axis and Allies purchased back in the 80s. In my version, it is NOT clear on whether you can place new units in the same space as a newly purchased factory.
In fact, here is the exact quote from my version of the rulebook:
'IMPORTANT: you cannot place newly purchased items on industrial complexes that you just captured.'
Here is another quote from Action Sequence 5:
' You cannot place units in a just-captured territory that has an industrial complex on it - you must wait until your next turn to place units there.'
Notice that it DOES NOT mention anything about newly PURCHASED factories, just capturing existing ones.
I have played for years with this rule and it has made for some very interesting games in the first few turns, when everyone is buying up the 3 or 4 extra factories to start a new offensive somewhere strange on the map.
They must have changed this in later versions of the game. I had no idea until I visited this site.
Just to amplify the rules cited in a previous answer, on any given turn, you can BUILD an industrial complex, or you can build UNITS on a completed one. But you can't do BOTH on the same turn in the same place. It's unreasonable to expect this in any game.
And you have to own the complex at the beginning of your turn to build. If it fell into enemy hands, and you recaptured it, you can't build units there either. (That is, you can't "recapture" and "build" on the same turn in the same place.)