Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Me and my friends were playing Axis and Allies: spring 1942 and one player placed an industrial complex on a country and then placed their units there, in the same turn. We looked through the entire rule book and we couldn't find it. We looked under the section for placing units and the appendix for Industrial Complex. Are you allowed to to this in Axis and Allies?

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers

up vote 5 down vote accepted

No, you cannot use industrial complexes you captured or purchased this turn. You must have missed it, top of page 22.

Phase 5: Mobilize New Units

Move the newly purchased units from the mobilization zone on the game board to eligible spaces you have controlled since the start of your turn, with the following exceptions (below). You cannot use industrial complexes that you captured or purchased this turn.

share|improve this answer
2  
And, to my knowledge, this rule is in effect in all Axis and Allies variants. –  Scott Mitchell Jul 22 '12 at 14:15
    
Thank you! I can't believe we read over that... –  John Jul 22 '12 at 18:09
add comment

Hey I just wanted to add to this question to say that I have an older version of Axis and Allies purchased back in the 80s. In my version, it is NOT clear on whether you can place new units in the same space as a newly purchased factory.

In fact, here is the exact quote from my version of the rulebook:

'IMPORTANT: you cannot place newly purchased items on industrial complexes that you just captured.'

Here is another quote from Action Sequence 5:

' You cannot place units in a just-captured territory that has an industrial complex on it - you must wait until your next turn to place units there.'

Notice that it DOES NOT mention anything about newly PURCHASED factories, just capturing existing ones.

I have played for years with this rule and it has made for some very interesting games in the first few turns, when everyone is buying up the 3 or 4 extra factories to start a new offensive somewhere strange on the map.

They must have changed this in later versions of the game. I had no idea until I visited this site.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Just to amplify the rules cited in a previous answer, on any given turn, you can BUILD an industrial complex, or you can build UNITS on a completed one. But you can't do BOTH on the same turn in the same place. It's unreasonable to expect this in any game.

And you have to own the complex at the beginning of your turn to build. If it fell into enemy hands, and you recaptured it, you can't build units there either. (That is, you can't "recapture" and "build" on the same turn in the same place.)

share|improve this answer
    
There's nothing in the rules to suggest that you can't build a complex in one space and build units at another complex in a different space, all on the same turn, which is what you seem to be suggesting here. –  Chris Dodd Jul 27 '12 at 17:24
    
@ChrisDodd: I edited to say that you can't do it in the SAME place, Is it Ok now? –  Tom Au Jul 27 '12 at 20:00
    
Better, but doesn't really add anything to the existing answer. The key point is that if you don't own an industrial complex in a space at the start of your turn, you can't build there at the end of the turn. Things you do in your turn can't change that, and the quoted rule says that pretty clearly. –  Chris Dodd Jul 27 '12 at 23:24
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.