My first time playing this game last night. My friend that was teaching me had only played a couple times. Despite a quick rules reading we wanted to verify this sequence that happened to us.
- After the board was laid out, we flipped 6 tiles, among them Fool's Landing.
- I took my turn, but was unable to Shore Up the Fools's Landing
- Waters Rise!
- Fool's Landing is drawn and discarded.
- We lost.
With a quarter of the land cards drawn to start the game this seems like it would be a fairly common occurrence.
Did we miss a rule somewhere? Are there ways to ameliorate this?