Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have a Dutch version of the Catan card-game so bear with me a little regarding translation to English.

My question refers to the event card that allows both players to search through a pile and put back one card from their hand. This event card is called "Bouwmeester" in Dutch, roughly translates to "Build Master" in English.

The Dutch text on this card is unclear about whether, when you choose to take a card from a pile, you need to put back your card under the same pile or may put it back under any pile.

So what is the formal ruling of this event card?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

It is the same pile.

As in the English rulebook (p22):

Examine your chosen stack. You may choose any one card from that stack. You may also choose not to exchange any cards. Place your discarded card at the bottom of the stack and return it to the table face-down.

share|improve this answer
Thank you for your answer, but I'm just wondering something. The original game is in German (I think), could it be that the English one is badly translated as well? :) – Bazzz Aug 7 '12 at 9:52
It's possible, but I doubt it. I've looked over the German rulebook, and whilst I don't have sufficient grasp of the language to translate it fully, it seems to me to be referring to a single stack as the subject of the exchange, as are the English rules. – CapnAlex Aug 7 '12 at 10:06

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.