Discussing combat, the rules (p.9, Combat Outcomes) say
If you failed to defeat all the defenders of a fortified site, you have to withdraw back to the space you were attacking from. If it is not a safe place, Forced withdrawal rules apply.
The Forced withdrawal rule (p.9, *End of the Turn") says
You must end your turn on a safe space.
a) If you are not on a safe space, you must backtrack your move until you arrive at a safe space.
b) For each space you move while backtracking, add a Wound to your hand.
Obviously, the fortified site with enemies remaining is not a safe space, and I am told to withdraw to my original space. On the other hand, the wording isn't explicit that this is a forced withdrawal.
So, do I automatically take a wound for failing to capture the site?