Can I purchase a Major Improvement card that is underneath another Major Improvement without first having to buy the top improvement?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
No, you have to buy the Major improvement that is above first. This isn't explicitly defined, but it is implied on p.2 of the rules:
There are also Minor Improvements which change the order of the stacking, again implying that the order is significant. For example, the Pastoral Letter (p.30):