Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I have the Idol in Betrayal at House on the Hill, can I use it on someone else's turn, say in a defensive roll? Or is it just for your turn? If I used it on someone else's turn can I also use it on my turn?

The text states:

Once per turn...

And doesn't specify which turn. Should it say round?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

No. Idol is an item, and may only be used on your own turn.

From the FAQ at wizards

Can you use an item card outside of your turn (for instance, when you were attacked)?

The only items you could use outside your own turn are the Angel Feather, the Lucky Stone, and the omen Skull.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.