Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

For example, what would happen if a freshly cast Lotleth Troll were to be regenerated in response to Annihilating Fire?

My hypothesis is that it depends on whose turn it is. The regeneration being essentially a replacement effect, when two replacement effects were to be applied simultaneously, they are to be chosen in APNAP order. Is this correct?

I haven't thought this through to the end, though, so I'm not sure what would happen in the end.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 9 down vote accepted

Summary: Annihilating Fire replaces the effect of destruction, but regeneration replaces the destruction itself. Annihilating Fire would not exile.


Replacement effects are not applied in APNAP order; they are applied in the order the affected object's controller or the affected player decides [CR 616.1]. But that doesn't matter here.

The effect of the state-based action being replaced is as follows [CR 704.5g]:

that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed.

which is to say [CR 701.6a]

that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed [move it from the battlefield to its owner’s graveyard].

Say Annihilating Fire replacement effect is applied first:

that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed [exile it from the battlefield].

Regeneration doesn't replace death, it replaces destruction [CR 614.8], so we get:

that creature has been dealt lethal damage, has all damage marked on it removed, and is tapped. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.

We get the same result by applying the effects in the opposite order.

share|improve this answer
    
Spot on. Death (which would be more accurately named if it were renamed to burial) occurs after desctruction, which itself is a result of lethal damage. So lethal damage causes destruction which causes death. Only in Magic!! –  corsiKa Sep 21 '12 at 18:57
    
@corsiKa, Nit: s/after destruction/as part of destruction/ –  ikegami Sep 21 '12 at 19:14
    
@Kensai, If this answers your question, please check the mark next to it. If not, tell us how it can be improved. Welcome to boardgames@stackexchange! –  ikegami Sep 22 '12 at 0:37
    
@ikegami I didn't mark it as correct because I didn't feel qualified to determine if it is so. But I will anyway, out of confidence. –  Kensai Sep 23 '12 at 19:56
    
@Kensai, you could always double check by re-asking here (except someone asked an extremely similar question right after you asked here). –  ikegami Sep 23 '12 at 19:58
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.