Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

It's really not clear to us how ships work in Game of Thrones

  • Can you use a ship (an empty one, not carrying land units) to attack a castle/fortress/territory/port?
  • What happens if you attack such areas with ships and those areas are defended by land units?
  • If you have ships in a port and the connected castle is conquered, what happens to the ships?
share|improve this question
up vote 16 down vote accepted

From the rulebook:

  1. No. "Ship units may move into friendly connected port areas or into adjacent sea areas, but may never move into a land area." (p. 15) So a ship alone cannot attack or conquer land. It can support a land attack, though, although the reverse is not true (p. 18).
  2. As indicated above, this cannot happen.
  3. You can capture the ships. "If the land area connected to a Port is successfully attacked and taken control of by another player, that player may immediately replace any enemy Ship units in the Port with an equal number of his own available Ship units (or as many Ship units as he has available, he desires, or is allowed by supply limits). Excess enemy ships are simply removed from the board." (p. 25)
share|improve this answer
Further to sitnaltax's very good answer, I'm pretty concerned by the line "an empty one, not carrying land units" - Ships do not (and cannot) "carry" any units. Ship Transport simply creates the effect of making land areas considered adjacent when connected by one or more sea areas containing your ships. – Daniel Lim Oct 3 '12 at 9:50
Thanks for answering. What I found confusing (at least in the version I have) is that information about port/ships is scattered in various pages. – Marco83 Oct 3 '12 at 14:12
In addition to the comment of @DanielLim: and these areas are only considered "adjacent" in the case of friendly (wrt. to the ships) MARCH orders... so no raid, support or card effect count through ships. – masu Jul 27 '14 at 20:25

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.