Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was playing with a friend who has Mogg Sentry on the field I then play Champion of the Parish and Vexing Devil. Does Mogg Sentry become a 5/5 creature until end of turn or is it just a 3/3?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Mogg Sentry becomes a 5/5 until end of turn. Mogg Sentry's ability triggers once for each occurrence of "opponent casts a spell."

603.2c An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences. See also rule 509.4.

share|improve this answer

To play a non-land card is to cast it.

701.11b To play a card means to play that card as a land or to cast that card as a spell, whichever is appropriate.

You cast two spells, so Mogg Sentry's ability triggers twice.

603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. [...]

Each resolves to create a continuous effects granting itself +2/+2. As such, Mogg becomes a 5/5 until the end of the turn.

share|improve this answer
If you want the step by step description of what happens, let me know and I'll oblige. – ikegami Oct 19 '12 at 20:36

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.