Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Many of the character cards in Flash Duel contain what might be considered a main action (e.g. Jaina Stormborne's Charged Shot stipulates a push). Does using this character ability prevent me from exercising a main action? The rules state you can play exactly one "main action" on your turn.

For example, can Jaina use Charged Shot to push her opponent, who is 3 spaces away, back 2 and then immediately attack with a 5?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 2 down vote accepted

Jaina's Charged Shot ability is used at the start of a round, and doesn't supplant the normal attack during your turn. The designer, David Sirlin, answered this question here,

Q: After using DeGrey's ability Spectral Pull or Push or Jaina's charged Shot, do you still take a normal action for this round or is the special ability your action for this round?

A: Those trigger at the start of your turn, so you do them then you do the rest of your turn. Nothing says it replaces or prevents a combat action, so you can still move or dashing strike or whatever. Using Spectral Pull and then attacking during the same turn is legal and a powerful way to use it. It's especially good in the dragon raid mode.

Note that the dragon does have a card that triggers "instead of his main action," so that ability really does prevent him from doing a main action later in the turn.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.