Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Rivals of Catan a player can be forced to discard buildings. If a player chooses an Abbey, do they also lose their University (which has a dependency on an Abbey), or do they just lose the Abbey?

share|improve this question
Hey Tyson, welcome to B&CG! – Pat Ludwig Oct 22 '12 at 5:34

No, they only lose the first card.

There are no dependencies, only requirements that must be met in order to play the second card.

On Page 16 of the rules it states:

The Theme Sets introduce cards that have special requirements that must be met before you can play them. The requirements may vary significantly - such as requiring the trade advantage or requiring that another building must already be in your principality.

Once the card is played and the requirement is satisfied, the requirement has no further effect on play.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.