Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Each of the Knights has a different name. If someone reveals a Knight when I play a Jester, can I gain a Knight, or do I gain nothing since there isn't a second Dame Anne (or whomever) available in the supply?


share|improve this question
The same situation arises if there are none of those cards left in the supply or when the card is gained via some other specific card (tournament prizes & black market) – Colin D Nov 16 '12 at 16:19
up vote 11 down vote accepted

The Golden Rule of Dominion is "do as much as you can".

If no copies of a card exist (e.g. because they've all been trashed) then no card is given out by a Jester.

Since Knights are unique cards, no-one gains anything when a Jester reveals one.

share|improve this answer
This is what we thought, and how we played it, but we couldn't find a definitive answer in the rules for either card. – aslum Oct 26 '12 at 16:36
As @swbarnes2's comment indicates, this answer is not quite complete; Dame Josephine is a Victory card, so in that particular case, her owner gains a Curse. – sitnaltax Jul 23 '13 at 1:47

If Dame Jospheine is revealed, she is a Victory card,so that triggers the first text on Jester, and the player owning her gets a Curse.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.