Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If you copy Increasing Confusion or any other "cast from the graveyard" spell with Increasing Vengeance, does the copy act like it was cast from the graveyard? Or, since the copy technically was not cast from the graveyard, would it just have the normal effect?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

Your instincts are correct. Copies of spells are just placed on the stack, they are never cast.

706.10. To copy a spell or activated ability means to put a copy of it on to the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast and a copy of an activated ability isn’t activated.

Cards on the other hand, can be copied and cast. For example, if Increasing Vengeance was enchanted by Spellweaver Volute, the copy of the card would be cast from a graveyard.

share|improve this answer
    
@darch, corrected. Used the wrong card in the example –  user1873 Jan 9 '13 at 17:22
add comment

The copy a spell and cast a spell actions are distinct and unrelated. A spell created by Increasing Vengeance was created by a copy action, not by a cast action. If that spell was Increasing Confusion, its replacement effect doesn't come into effect since it wasn't cast (from the graveyard or otherwise). This is specifically covered by the rules.

706.10. To copy a spell or activated ability means to put a copy of it on to the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast [...]

Compare with Spellweaver Volute, which copies cards you then cast (from the graveyard).

share|improve this answer
    
Adjusted as recommended. –  ikegami Oct 28 '12 at 19:10
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.