Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When playing as a Digger, when is the best time to share the knowledge about one of the destination cards with the other players?

Should the digger tell other players this information immediately to avoid suspicion of being the saboteur? Or maybe it's better if he waits at least until the first saboteur is revealed?

What strategy should one use to take best advantage of the knowledge gained from looking at one of the destination cards?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

When I have just looked a destination card I often afterwards put a road card that either:

  1. Obviously leads towards the destination card that I just looked at, or

  2. Obviously leads away from that card.

It is then up to my fellow players to decide whether they trust my obvious move or not, based on whether they think I am a digger or a saboteur. I noticed that this is often enough information for the other players to understand what you have seen on the destination card.

I don't think there is a better way that does not render you suspicious. If you give too much information away at a certain point, people will always become sceptical. However if you let them infer the "right" information themselves, they might believe that you didn't intend to give all information. And people consider their own "discoveries" more credible than information that was chucked into their laps. Even if you planned it that way. :)

share|improve this answer
add comment

I think there is no clear answer to that.

If your group tends to be suspicious, no matter what you say, they will not believe it, doesn't matter what you say.

If you have been a saboteur before, the first reaction is not to trust what you say.

If you say something, and then somebody else checks the same card and says something different, usually it's assumed that the first person was lying. If the second person says the same, both can be saboteurs and the second is just following your lead.

If you had bad luck with your cards, and you have to discard, or to block something, even one of the less useful roads, you may be seen as saboteur and no one is going to believe you.

I can continue with more examples.

The final thought is, it depends on you and the group playing the game.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.