Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

My family and I are confused about the wording in the instructions. Perhaps my question is best asked with an example:

I have the Alien Tech Institute card, which has three parts:

  • 3 VPs for each alien tech production world
  • 2 VPs for alien technology windfall worlds
  • 2 VPs for other "alien" cards, including this one.

If I end the game with 1 alien production card, and 2 alien windfall cards, would I receive VPs for both categories that I satisfy (in this case 7 total), or just the windfall category, which would give me a total of 4 VPs total?

share|improve this question
As a side note I will mention that if the 6s are read correctly, no one card will score twice for the same 6 – Andrey Nov 13 '12 at 15:17
This is very interesting, and we have not been playing it this way. Can you describe where in the instructions this is? – nrobey Nov 13 '12 at 15:37
Every 6 where a card may come up twice is written as "2 for every X having quality Y. 1 for every other X" – Andrey Nov 13 '12 at 15:54
Ah ha! Thanks, Andrey! – nrobey Nov 14 '12 at 14:53
up vote 11 down vote accepted

You would get all of them that you satisfy.

While the rules don't actually clarify this (that I could see), the entire point of playing them is to earn extra victory points for how you've setup your tableux, like focusing on alien tech in the case you pointed out.

share|improve this answer
Thanks, Kyle! I appreciate your kind answer! – nrobey Nov 12 '12 at 2:30

You would get 7 points for your alien worlds. The scoring is cumulative.

share|improve this answer
Hi rrenauld, I read your other posts about this game, and I appreciate you taking the time to respond! +1 upvote. – nrobey Nov 12 '12 at 2:28

You would get at least 9 points: 3 for your production world, 4 for your windfall worlds, 2 for Alien Tech Institute itself. (Assuming all the above are in your tableau and not still in your hand.)

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.