Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The wonder Babylon (B) has a special ability on step 2: You can play your last (7th) card instead of discarding it.

These two questions cover if you'd have to play both cards in the 6th round or if you get a 7th round:

I wonder: Can you use this ability in all Ages (if built)? Or can you use it only in the Age you built the wonder?

I assumed that you can use it every Age, but then I noted that the special ability of Olympia (A), which can be used in all Ages, has "I, II, III" written on it. This clarification is missing on Bablyon's (B) second step, though.

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

You may use it once per age. The description of symbols page shows that symbol as (emphasis mine).

The player can play the last card of each age instead of discarding it. This card can be played by paying its cost, discarded to gain 3 coins or used in the construction of his or her Wonder.

share|improve this answer
Ah, great. In the German translation of the rules it is not that clear. – unor Nov 20 '12 at 11:22

I'm certain that you can use the ability in all Ages. I would expect some kind of gloss such as "Once in the game, you may..." if this wasn't the case.

I wonder why Olympia should have a special clarification though. Perhaps it is to make it clearer that you can only build a free building once per Age (i.e. I, II, III to imply a maximum of three free buildings). There would be no need to worry that a player might try to play their last card more than once per age, of course...

share|improve this answer
Thanks! The explanation for "I, II, III" makes sense to me. – unor Nov 20 '12 at 11:21

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.