Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

For example, Quicksilver Fountain says

At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player puts a flood counter on target non-Island land he or she controls of his or her choice. That land is an Island for as long as it has a flood counter on it.

At the beginning of each end step, if all lands on the battlefield are Islands, remove all flood counters from them.

I imagine this card is useful specifically because it denies the opponent the appropriate color of mana, if they are not already playing a blue deck. If I make a Swamp into an Island, then it produces U instead of B.

But what about with non-basic lands? If I turn Hinterland Harbor into an Island, does that mean it can no longer produce green mana? What about Seat of the Synod? Will that still be an artifact?

share|improve this question
I run this card in my Merfolk Tribal deck that focuses on Islandwalk. That way, not only are you messing with their mana base, you're also getting unblockable attackers. – Discord Dec 6 '13 at 19:14
up vote 11 down vote accepted

Keep in mind that there is a difference between "gaining" a basic land type (Aquitect's Will, "in addition to") and a land "becoming" or "is" a basic land type. When a land becomes a basic land type, it loses its old rules text and gains the appropriate implict basic land mana generating ability. Supertypes and Types are unaffected, so a land that is also a creature or artifact remains one.

305.7. If an effect changes a land's subtype to one or more of the basic land types, the land no longer has its old land type. It loses all abilities generated from its rules text and its old land types, and it gains the appropriate mana ability for each new basic land type. Note that this doesn't remove any abilities that were granted to the land by other effects. Changing a land's subtype doesn't add or remove any card types (such as creature) or supertypes (such as basic, legendary, and snow) the land may have. If a land gains one or more land types in addition to its own, i keeps its land types and rules text, and it gains the new land types and mana abilities.

share|improve this answer

The land becomes an Island. It can no longer produce anything except U mana without help from other cards.

It would have the text 'in addition to its other types' or something similar if it meant anything else.

share|improve this answer
Can you quote any specific rules to back you up? What about if the card has other Types? – StrixVaria Nov 26 '12 at 21:42

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.