Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Bohnanza (known under different names in different countries)

Is a rather simple game intended to have a quick learning curve.

So, the rulebook is brief and thus there are some gaps that are not covered. One of this is the selling. Excluding the 2 players variant, according to the rulebook:

you may sell crops at any point of the game

And:

The limit on coins you get is 4 per sale

Combining these rules, I want to know how selling works during your turn. Consider it is your turn and you have two full plantations. Can you:

  • sell one of them for 4 coins, and plant in the emptied field
  • sell the other field for 4 coins, and plant a second card?

Basically, does the limit of 4 coins apply to your turn or to a single sale (in which case it's redundant, as no card gives more than 4)?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 9 down vote accepted

It is a redundant rule. This printing from Rio Grande Games doesn't even mention the 4 gold maximum per sale. Under Harvesting and selling beans (page 7), it only mentions restrictions on selling from a bean field with fewer than 2 beans only when both fields have exactly 1 bean. The other rule you mention is reiterated though. Therefore, you can earn 8 gold in the example that you gave.

Players may harvest and sell beans at any time, even when they are not the active player. [...]

share|improve this answer

I think "4 per sale" is fairly simple and explicit, 4 per sale. You can carry out multiple sales per turn, and gain as many coins from each sale as your beans are worth.

If the game wanted you to gain a maximum of 4 coins on each of your turns as active player, it would certainly have specified "4 coins per turn", instead of "4 per sale" (which pretty much goes without saying anyway).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.