Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

How does Koth of the Hammer's plus one ability work when it ends right after you use it and the Mountain turned into a creature has summoning sickness (part of the rulings on Gatherer)?

share|improve this question
add comment

4 Answers

I think you've misunderstood the ruling:

If Koth's first ability animates a Mountain that came under your control that turn, it will have "summoning sickness" and be unable to attack. It will also be unable to be tapped to activate an ability with the {T} symbol in its cost, such as the Mountain's mana ability or the ability granted to it by Koth's emblem.

If the mountain has been under your control since before the beginning of this turn, it does not have "summoning sickness". It's only unable to tap and attack if it's a mountain that you played this turn.

share|improve this answer
    
Concise and to the point, +1! –  thesunneversets Nov 30 '12 at 8:09
add comment

Whether it has summoning sickness or not depends on how long you have controlled the mountain. How long it has been a creature doesn't matter whatsoever.

If you have controlled the mountain since the beginning of your most recent turn, it doesn't have summoning sickness. So you're fine if you played the Mountain on a previous turn.

If you haven't controlled the mountain since the beginning of your most recent turn, it has summoning sickness. If it's a creature, it can't attack, and you can't use its activated abilities with the tap symbol ({T}) or the untap symbol ({Q}) in its cost. (This means you wouldn't be able to use its native mana-producing ability.)

302.6. A creature’s activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can’t be activated unless the creature has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can’t attack unless it has been under its controller’s control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the “summoning sickness” rule.

share|improve this answer
add comment

If we set aside the creature aspect, let's not forget that it becomes untapped. The fact that it's still a mountain means you can tap it for mana again. (If you played the mountain this turn, then it would have summoning sickness and thus be uneligible to tap for mana, since it is an activated ability. But the likelihood of having only one mountain in a Koth deck is unlikely, and you'd clearly pick one that didn't have summoning sickness.) Red doesn't get much for acceleration, so that's pretty big. Even Garruk Wildspeaker in green only untapped two forests. Or, if you have the Koth emblem, you can tap it to do one damage again.

Considering the creature aspect, as long as you controlled the mountain from the beginning of your turn, it's not impacted by summoning sickness. Even if it was, if there was a color to give something haste, it would be red.

It has 4 toughness so that it doesn't immediately die to a lightning bolt (which was in standard at the time). Considering how weak red creatures typically are, having a 4/4 mountain out will do wonders for an Overwhelming Stampede in a red/green deck as another consideration for it even if it did have summoning sickness.

Edit: sandbox testing. Circle of Protection: Green

share|improve this answer
1  
@Daenyth That's correct. Does my answer not indicate that in the parenthetical right after it says you can tap it for mana? –  corsiKa Dec 2 '12 at 19:07
add comment

The mountain would NOT have summoning sickness period because it specifically states that it becomes a 4/4 red elemental creature until end of turn. It's still a land. Therefor the mountain can't be a creature before that turn or after that turn. Also seeing as how it is still a land It doesn't have summoning sickness. Lands don't have summoning sickness. So you can still tap it for mana or attack. And if you activated his +1 on an opponents turn you can use it to block or tap to use the mana for an instant.

share|improve this answer
1  
This is wrong. Because it's a Creature, regardless of any other types it may have, summoning sickness still applies if you haven't controlled the underlying permanent continuously since the beginning of your current/most recent turn, in which case you would be unable to tap it for mana or attack with it. See also Dryad Arbor, a Land Creature whose reminder text explicitly states it's still affected by summoning sickness. Also note that a Planeswalker's loyalty ability can't be activated during an opponent's turn. –  jwodder May 18 '13 at 23:37
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.