In cosmic encounter, one player is the Void (destroys ships instead of sending them to the warp), and another player is the Spiff (attacking player still gets a colony if they lose by 10 or more). If the Spiff attack the Void and lose when they have 5+ ships, do they still get a colony, or is the ship that would become the colony destroyed?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
The ship is destroyed. Both abilities are trying to interact with ships that would be going to the void. The FAQ for the Fantasy Flight version (the most recent to date), indicates that Void trumps all other abilities.
This ruling is not at all obvious when you consider the text on the various cards, and their updated errata. (from the CE Cosmodex)