Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Let's say I've placed settlements in two separate forests. In both forests there are still (more than) 3 fields free. Now I draw another forest card and have to place my 3 settlements.

initial situation (9 settlements already placed)

Am I allowed to split my 3 settlements and place 1 settlement in terrain A and 2 settlements in terrain B? (next to my other settlements, of course)

Or do I have to build these 3 settlements in the same forest terrain, if possible?

share|improve this question

4 Answers 4

up vote 5 down vote accepted

Hymie's answer is completely correct. Quoting from the rulebook:

the 3 settlements must be built successively one after the other.

And BGG FAQ:

There is no rule that you must necessarily place your 3 settlements in a single contiguous group (though sometimes you must, and sometimes you may choose to).

share|improve this answer

What you are NOT allowed to do is to play one settlement, use your horsey power to gallop it somewhere else (or any other special power from a tile), then build your other two settlements. Those three settlements have to be played sequentially.

share|improve this answer

You must build 3 settlements consecutively (which means all 3 right now, in a row, one after the other) during the current turn. So long as they are placed next to existing settlements, they can be split up.

share|improve this answer
    
Could you provide citation to substantiate this? This appears to be contradicted by the BGG FAQ, but then again, the BGG FAQ isn't cited either. –  doppelgreener Sep 15 at 23:10

As long as you are next to your existing settlements and the terrain types match the card, there is no requirement that the three settlements that you play be in the same physical piece of terrain.

share|improve this answer
1  
Can you please post a link to the rules if you have?? or something that make your answer more clear about why you said so?? thanks! –  gbianchi Dec 3 '12 at 14:50
    
queen-games.de/games.aspx?ProductId=45 Page 4 of the rulebook outlines the building rules. –  hymie Dec 3 '12 at 15:34
    
I'm guessing he "said so" because it's the correct answer! In any case, I'm more concerned with how the OP got settlements in two separate forests. It's possible... just curious :) –  The Chaz 2.0 Dec 3 '12 at 16:39
2  
@gbianchi There is no rule that specifically states this is allowed, because it is clearly implied by the lack of any rule that says that all 3 of your settlements must be built adjacent to each other, or within the same chunk of terrain. Each settlement is placed individually, following the rules for individual placement. –  bwarner Dec 3 '12 at 16:50
    
@TheChaz: It's just an example to get the situation clear ;-) (However, this very case should be possible when we assume that there is another quadrant at the bottom resp. at the left, which is not pictured here). –  unor Dec 6 '12 at 12:50

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.