Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Monopoly City can I buy a district after landing there taking the train via a station?

Background: I rolled the dice, went forward and ended up on a district owned by me that includes a train station. I decided to take the train to Diamond Hills which had a train station as well, but was not owned by anyone yet. Can I now purchase Diamond Hills?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Yes, the rules specifically tell you you can. Under the Where Did You Land section on (page 7)

A district you own:

Do nothing unless there is a railroad on it. If so, you can immediately move to any other district with a railroad on it and buy it or auction it (if it is unowned) or pay rent (if it belongs to another player).

share|improve this answer
haha obviously. During our game of yesterday I read the station rules on page 9 and couldn't find the answer. So we applied common sense and came up with a house rule. The rules on page 7 are very clear though. Thanks for pointing them out to me. – Bazzz Dec 8 '12 at 7:27

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.