Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Ninja Burger ("No matter how alert your guards, how deep your bunker, or how secure your office, we deliver in 30 minutes or less"), one possible game end is if the average Honor of all players at the end of a round is less than 4. The winner is the player with the highest Honor at the time. Also, if a player has zero Honor at the end of a round, they "apologize to their ancestors," draw a new ninja and a new hand, and restart with 6 honor.

Which of these effects happens first, since both just say "at end of round"? If a player's zero Honor brings the average low enough to trigger the game's end, but their new character with 6 Honor doesn't bring the average that low, does the game end or not?

(Bonus complication if you say "the game ends": if 6 Honor is enough to win the game at this point, does that mean the player who had zero Honor - but restarted with a new ninja that has 6 honor - wins? Or does the game end before that player can restart with a new ninja?)

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted

The game ends, the player with zero honor doesn't get a new ninja until just before a new round starts, and only if the round hasn't ended. In the rule book under Phase 8: Check Honor, besides the checks to see if the game has ended because a single player has 5 more honor than every other player, or the franchise honor is so high or low that the manager's position becomes open, it says this:

If no one has won, a new round can start. Before the round starts, though, any ninjas whose Honor has gone to zero or less must make amends ...

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks, that's very clear. I was looking at the "You Have No Honor!" section right below it, which uses the more ambiguous "at the end of the round." –  Paul Marshall Dec 19 '12 at 19:09
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.