Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Say I had Vedalken Orrery and I used Cloudshift on something, could I respond to Cloudshift bringing the creature back into play with Day of Judgement or something similar?

share
1  
Note that DoJ is a sorcery, so you can't ordinarily cast it in response to anything. –  David Z Jan 13 '13 at 3:00

3 Answers 3

up vote 6 down vote accepted

No, Cloudshift is resolved as a single, atomic event. There is no time in between the parts of its effect in which anyone has a window of opportunity to cast a spell.

From the Comprehensive rules:

116.2e Resolving spells and abilities may instruct players to make choices or take actions, or may allow players to activate mana abilities. Even if a player is doing so, no player has priority while a spell or ability is resolving. See rule 608, "Resolving Spells and Abilities."

share
    
spells are not quite atomic, For instance, if you cast Living Death, all of the dies triggers will be put on the stack before any of the ETB triggers. –  Sam I am Jan 14 '13 at 5:48
1  
@SamIam no, that's not right. All the dies trigger will trigger before the ETB trigger. However, triggers are not put on the stack just at the moment they triggered, but only before a player would get priority. Players can put the ETB triggers on the stack before the dies triggers. –  Pablo Jan 14 '13 at 15:00
    
However, it's true that Cloudshift is not a single, atomic event. Exiling and returning the creature to play are two different sequential events. Players can't play anything between these two events because the don't get priority, not because it's a single event. –  Pablo Jan 14 '13 at 15:03
1  
I more meant that the resolution was atomic, in the sense that there's no space for anything not written on the card to happen until the card has finished resolving, rather than that everything on the card happens simultaneously. Probably an unwise choice of term, I guess... –  thesunneversets Jan 14 '13 at 16:04

"To respond to X" means "to cast or activate after X is placed on the stack but before X resolves."

One can respond to Cloudshift, but not to "bringing creature back". That's not a spell, activated ability or triggered ability. You do not get priority in the middle of a spell resolving [CR 116.2e].

If you cast Day of Judgement in response to Cloudshift, it you would resolve before Cloudshift does anything at all. Cloudshift cannot save a creature from Day of Judgement, but Fiend Hunter and Sudden Disappearance could.

share

I would say no, Cloudshift removes and puts back a creature as part of the same effect, so you cannot 'inturrupt' the effect in the middle of its action by casting some other spell. You could Day of Judgement before you cast or after you cast cloudshift, but you cannot remove your own creature, Day of Judgment, and then put it back.

share

This site is currently not accepting new answers.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .