7 Wonders (2-7 players, 30 minutes) is a card-based civilization development game. It's played from three decks representing three ages. Players draft then reveal cards simultaneously.

learn more… | top users | synonyms (1)

8
votes
2answers
1k views

Rules to decide which wonder side (A or B) to play in 7 Wonders?

In the rules it is recommended for the first games to use side A of the wonders only. After these first games (if I understand the rules correctly) players play the side that is at the top of the ...
11
votes
2answers
2k views

Babylon (B), 2nd step: Can you use this ability only one time?

The wonder Babylon (B) has a special ability on step 2: You can play your last (7th) card instead of discarding it. These two questions cover if you'd have to play both cards in the 6th round or if ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

What is meant by “built” regarding the Vineyard card?

On the recommendation of a friend, I picked up 7 Wonders, and two other friends and I played our first game a few nights ago. When one of my friends played Vineyard, we had a lengthy discussion of ...
12
votes
1answer
3k views

How does Babylons's second stage wonder work for building/discarding your last two cards? [duplicate]

Babylon: When you have the second stage of the wonder that allows you to buy your last 2 cards in the age instead of discarding, does this count as 1 turn or as 2 separate turns? Here's why I ask... ...
6
votes
1answer
258 views

In 7 Wonders, does getting a VP for all yellow cards include the card mentioning it?

In 7 wonders, there is a yellow card whose icons say "get a VP for each yellow card I have played". If I already have 3 yellow cards in play, is my total VP from yellow cards 3 or 4?
7
votes
1answer
2k views

Advanced two player rules clarification for 7 Wonders

Perhaps I overlooked the following when reading the rules, but I don't recall these questions being addressed in the two-player advanced rules for 7 Wonders: Can the free city build its wonder, or ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

Do you get a gold when playing Trading Post?

The symbols for Trading Post show a one gold symbol above the symbols for the resources. Does this indicate that playing the card gives you a gold (in addition to getting a discount from it), or is ...
25
votes
3answers
1k views

Are the A-sides and B-sides of the wonder boards really balanced?

I know the rules claim the sides are balanced and can be mixed in the same game, but I have my doubts. In general, the B-sides feel a little stronger to me, but it's sometimes hard to compare because ...
20
votes
1answer
2k views

Can a resource card be used more than once in a turn when allowed to build more than one structure?

Scenario: Player is using Babylon (side B) 2nd wonder has been completed (allows playing last card of each age instead of discarding) Player has a Mine in play (can produce either Stone or Ore) ...
10
votes
1answer
310 views

Is it common to have too few resources for most cards in Age 3 of “7 Wonders”?

I've only played one game so far and it was with 7 players so that might not have been a normal experience... I got the feeling that most cards in Age 3 are simply not affordable because they need so ...
5
votes
2answers
800 views

In 7 wonders when you buy resources from neighbor do you take the card?

When you buy resources from neighbor do you take the card or just get access to the resources you need?
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Which Seven Wonders Leaders Should I Be Hoping To Recruit?

I got to play with the Seven Wonders Leaders expansion for the first time last night, and it certainly adds an extra dimension to the game. I was able to assemble a lethal combo of Xenophon (2 extra ...
15
votes
3answers
607 views

When is it advisable to take Blue cards in the first age in Seven Wonders?

I've played several games of Seven Wonders now, and I'm still figuring out a lot of the strategy. I've learned that every card has its place and advantages, but the one group of cards that seems most ...
10
votes
2answers
1k views

In Seven-Wonders Can I buy resources that were built by my neighbors this turn?

In 7 Wonders, you do a lot of building things and purchasing resources from your neighbors. Naturally, you cannot purchase resources that aren't actually there. However, sometimes you run into a ...
14
votes
2answers
3k views

In Seven Wonders can you use the “Play card from Discard Piles” ability to play an age III card?

In Seven Wonders one of the the wonder abilities allows you to look through discarded cards and pick one to build for free. If you use this in your very last turn can you pick a card from Age III, i.e....
12
votes
3answers
1k views

Timing Rules in Seven Wonders

There may or may not be a clear definitive ruling on this in the rulebook, but it's something that keeps confusing me in the actual play, so I'll ask anyway. Here are several questions that, when put ...
38
votes
10answers
35k views

Is there much strategy and planning in 7-Wonders or is mostly luck?

I have played about 15 games of Seven Wonders now. When I ask the winning player why they won, they tend to tell me what they did rather than why they did it, and rarely does it involve anything ...