Arkham Horror is an atmospheric, cooperative adventure game set in the Cthulhu Mythos of H.P. Lovecraft.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

8
votes
1answer
2k views

What are the changes in the Revised Edition of Curse of the Dark Pharaoh?

I recently picked up a copy of the Miskatonic Horror expansion. In the rules, it says Note: Miskatonic Horror is designed to be used with the revised edition of The Curse of the Dark Pharaoh. If ...
5
votes
1answer
58 views

Sent from one Other World to another. Another encounter in the same turn?

One of my characters was in The Abyss and had an encounter there, which stated to attempt a luck+1 skill check, which ended up sending my investigator to The Dreamlands. Do I get to immediately have ...
5
votes
1answer
54 views

Possible to spend clue tokens to re-roll attempts at sealing gates?

I'm just playing my first ever (solo) game of Arkham Horror, so I'm still quite new to the nuances of the game, though the overall mechanics are already starting to click. The rules state that you ...
2
votes
1answer
243 views

Arkham Horror heralds with new cards

Playing Arkham Horror with a herald. In the Herald variant rules, it doesn't say to shuffle the new cards in their respective decks. Does this mean that the herald variant is played without the new ...
5
votes
1answer
84 views

Do I add all Mask monsters from the base game and expansions when Nyarlathotep is the Ancient One?

Of all the Mask monsters in Arkham Horror, there are 5 in the base game, 1 in Dunwich Horror, 2 in Kingsport Horror, and 2 in Insmouth Horror. If Nyarlathotep is the Ancient One, do I add all Mask ...
5
votes
1answer
88 views

Arkham Horror: Is there any thematic introductory text out there for first time players?

I'm going to play Arkham tonight with a couple of friends which they don't have any previous Lovecraft experience. Is there any short text which I could use to introduce them to the Cthulhu Mythos ...
4
votes
2answers
110 views

Do I get to use non-bonus abilities from items I don't have equipped?

For the abilities underneath the "+N to combat check", for instance, am I allowed to use them when I don't have them equipped? I believe the answer is yes but I was hoping to find documentation. I ...
8
votes
4answers
2k views

Complexity of Eldritch Horror versus Arkham Horror

I have heard Eldritch Horror described as a "streamlined Arkham Horror", as if the makers of AH considered how to make a faster, more accessible successor. Having played and enjoyed Eldritch Horror, ...
2
votes
1answer
96 views

Ancient one awakes and battle

When the ancient one awakes, what will happen with the another monsters? They stay in the board or just they're banished? And if they stay in the board, the player needs to evade that monster every ...
5
votes
1answer
74 views

Arkham Horror Put a Clue Token on this card?

I can't seem to quite figure out how cards like Amanda Sharpe's Pass/Fail work where it states: ...put a Clue token on this Card Do these clue tokens become usable as a bank of clue tokens, such ...
2
votes
1answer
20 views

Does a stalker monsters always stay if there is an investigator in its current area or location?

The Dunwich rules don't seem to explicitly say this on page 6. Do these monsters stay when there is an investigator with them, or do they perhaps even opt to pursue one of lower sneak if they are ...
2
votes
1answer
61 views

Can a player take both a madness and injury card if his investigator gets reduced to zero stamina and sanity?

The Dunwich expansion allows for drawing Madness or Injury cards in place of going insane or being rendered unconscious. Can this be used to draw both Injury and Madness when both go to zero? I ...
1
vote
1answer
46 views

Do cursed investigators in the herald variant repeatedly fall unconscious?

In the Herald variant of Curse of the Dark Pharaoh, cursed investigators lose stamina every upkeep. If they reach zero and become unconscious, do they wake at St. Mary's Hospital only to keep falling ...
2
votes
1answer
27 views

Can I use Summoning Glass immediately upon receiving it?

Do I have to wait until the arkham encounters phase of my next turn, or can I use this card immediately upon receiving it?
1
vote
1answer
103 views

What does “you may not use any investigator cards in this encounter” mean?

A science building encounter had a mi-go appear and stated I could not use investigator cards if I failed a speed check. What does this mean?
1
vote
2answers
34 views

If I fail a spell check to gain a combat check bonus, am I unable to equip another item?

When I use my hand slot to attempt to cast a spell, and it fails, am I unable to equip a different item or spell in that hand?
2
votes
1answer
38 views

Do I make the sneak check on the patrol marker or confront monsters first?

When I end my turn in the street where there are monsters and a patrol marker, do I encounter the monsters first or perform the sneak check to avoid being arrested. Do I get to choose?
1
vote
1answer
26 views

Do I effectively lose two opportunities to have an encounter when I get arrested by patrols?

When I get arrested by patrols during the movement phase, I get moved to the jail and am told to become delayed and skip the entire next turn. Does this mean I miss this turn's encounter phase and ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

If I fail to evade Dimensional Shambler, am I lost in time and space?

Failing a combat check results in being lost in time and space, and this monster has no combat damage listed. If I fail to evade, that implies I suffer no damage nor do I become lost as it was not a ...
3
votes
1answer
56 views

Do Dunwich monsters get removed from gate closings?

When a gate is closed, do matching monsters in Dunwich get removed? I'm aware the monsters in Dunwich do not count toward the monster limit as the vortices handle that dynamic. I would think the gate ...
3
votes
1answer
76 views

What spaces are considered not 'in Arkham'

For the action "All Cthonians and Dholes in Arkham are returned to the cup," does this include the outskirts and sky spaces? Edit: since these creatures cannot fly, this question is more about ...
2
votes
1answer
107 views

In Arkham Horror, if I lose a turn and then am drawn into a gate, am I then only delayed?

I am not sure what 'losing a turn' is. Is it identical to being lost in space and time in that nothing, even monsters, affects you or fights you? Does being sucked into a gate that appears then ...
4
votes
1answer
43 views
0
votes
0answers
19 views

When counting toughness for a monster trophy, do you use the toughness when killed or the current toughness its type might have? [duplicate]

There are a few parts to this question? First, if the toughness of a monster is reduced during combat by some effect such as a spell or item (I know there is one that reduces monster toughness by 1), ...
1
vote
1answer
44 views

If maximum stamina gets reduced during an environment card, when the card is discarded, do I return to max?

If an environment card makes my max stamina go down 1, I would lose a stamina token. However, if a new environment card shows and I haven't taken any stamina damage, do I get to move it back up to my ...
4
votes
1answer
71 views

Can I use Duke to immediately restore sanity right after I discover I'm going to lose it?

If I were to discover that losing sanity would drive me insane, can I use the ally Duke to immediately heal my sanity first? It sounds like I would be cheating time doing this, so my thinking is that ...
2
votes
1answer
68 views

Can you trade equipment between combat with multiple creatures?

Combat is often referred to as a unit of activity against one monster (i.e. do _ during this combat, or gain _ for this combat). Does this mean that investigators are able to trade items in between ...
1
vote
1answer
20 views

Do two monsters only emerge from the gate from the first mythos card in the Dunwich Horror setup?

The Dunwich Horror expansion says in the setup: With five or more players, place two monsters on the gate indicated by the mythos card instead of one. Is this something that only occurs in the ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

What happens to an investigator who arrives at a gate already explored by another?

Say Investigator A goes through a gate and comes back to Arkham, and Investigator B moves to that location. What happens, assuming A goes before B? Here are some cases: If A moves to Arkham on his ...
0
votes
1answer
74 views

Does Flesh Ward prevent Stamina loss from one source multiple times?

The Flesh Ward spell says Any Phase: Cast and exhaust to ignore all Stamina loss being dealt to you from one source. Discard this spell if the Ancient One awakens. Is a 'source' considered a ...
0
votes
1answer
141 views

Does the Dread Curse of Azathoth spell stay active for multiple monsters?

The spell says Cast and exhaust to gain +9 to Combat checks until the end of this combat. Does the spell last until the end of combat with the current monster, or the end of combat for this ...
1
vote
1answer
40 views

Can I use Bind Monster in addition to the combat check?

The spell says: Cast and Discard this spell to pass one Combat check. You must roll successes equal to the monster's toughness to cast this spell. This spell doesn't work on Ancient Ones. If I ...
2
votes
2answers
53 views

Is there any methodology or pattern to picking better stats to emphasize for location and other world encounters?

I know this of the 6 basic stats speed: for moving through arkham sneak: for evading fight: for combat and gate closing lore: for spell casting and gate closing luck: for....shrug. Encountery random ...
1
vote
1answer
27 views

If I claim a monster token from the cup, do I pick at random?

One of the Other World encounters says Pass a Luck (-1) check to claim a monster trophy from the cup (even if it is Endless).... Does this mean I pick randomly?
2
votes
1answer
80 views

Can you become the deputy of Arkham after another player has?

If someone has taken this card, is another player able to seize it from them by trading in trophies at the police station to become the deputy themselves? If so, do they take the Patrol Wagon (whether ...
6
votes
1answer
504 views

In the Final Battle, when you remove doom tokens for rolling successes against an Ancient One do you stop counting successes for that roll?

In Arkham Horror you have to roll a cumulative number of successes equal to the number of players to knock off a doom token from the Elder God's health. If you reach the number of players worth of ...
3
votes
1answer
155 views

Is the only time a monster encounter occurs during the movement phase or when 'a monster appears'?

Do monster encounters only occur during the movement phase when leaving a space with a monster or ending at one, and also when cards say a monster appears? Flying monsters moving to your space don't ...
1
vote
1answer
50 views

Do I immediately get any clues at a location I jump to from the “Lost In Time And Space” location?

Once I return from Lost In Time And Space, do I take the clue in that location immediately upon landing there during the Upkeep phase?
0
votes
0answers
33 views

Can multiple doom tokens be removed in one hit in the final battle? [duplicate]

If I have two players and my investigator is blessed and has a resultant fight of 11 and rolls 8 successes, do I outright take 4 doom tokens off the ancient one? We spent 2-3 hours slogging through ...
4
votes
1answer
123 views

In Arkham Horror, if a monster surge exceeds the max allowable monsters, does the monster that caused the max to be exceeded get discarded?

If I the outskirts is already at maximum capacity, and I have to add 5 more monsters because of a monster surge, do I empty the Outskirts and then add 4 monsters? More specifically, does the monster ...
0
votes
1answer
78 views

How does losing a turn work in Arkham Horror?

Lost in time and space says I lose my turn but then also says I am delayed and stand up during the movement phase. Does this mean I stay out of an entire turn of the game ignoring upkeep, movement, ...
0
votes
1answer
41 views

In Arkham Horror, can “Any Phase” actions be performed multiple times immediately?

The item in mind is the Enchanted Jewelry which can prevent one stamina damage any phase (and gets discarded once 3 stamina tokens have piled up on the card). Does this mean it can only be used to ...
0
votes
1answer
111 views

In Arkham Horror, what are the two symbols at the bottom of location spaces?

The location spaces have two icons, on the lower left and right. What do they stand for, what items you tend to earn in location encounters? And why are some inverted in color (white and black versus ...
1
vote
1answer
36 views

When the ancient one awakens, do we pass the first player token?

Since the token passes at the end of the turn, and the awakening goes immediately to the awakening, do we skip passing the first player token for the first attack?
1
vote
1answer
75 views

What elements of Arkham Horror balance the difficulty across the number of players?

I know the number of open gates that triggers the awakening of the Ancient One reduces as the number of players increase, and the number of roaming monsters in Arkham increases as well, so there is ...
0
votes
1answer
18 views

In Arkham Horror, does a third separate instruction after a pair of pass/fail clauses imply that it occurs in both cases?

Here is the text in question from the Celeano world: On a failure, a monster appears from the book. On a success, you are drawn into the book for a time. Stay here next turn. I know the last ...
0
votes
1answer
28 views

In Arkham Horror, can Shrivelling be used to compound bonuses?

Probably the generic question is whether combat bonuses can be compounded at all or if it works like Eldritch Horror where '+' bonuses are only ever used for one item while re-rolls can be compounded. ...
1
vote
1answer
83 views

In Arkham Horror, can my investigator only use Dragon's Eye on the drawn gate if she is the 'first player'?

Dragon's Eye says Any Phase: Exhaust and lose 1 Sanity after drawing a gate or location card to draw a new card in its place Does this mean the investigator owning it must be the 'first player' ...
0
votes
1answer
20 views

In Arkham Horror, do 'leftover' successes after triggering a doom token removal still count? [duplicate]

In a 2-investigator game, if he rolls 3 successes, does the remaining success get accumulated toward the next doom token removal? Along the same vein, if he rolls 4 successes, does he remove 2 tokens? ...
1
vote
1answer
70 views

In Arkham Horror, where do flying monsters in location areas go when no investigator is near?

The rulebook says If the flying monster is in a street area with no investigators and there are no investigators in a connected street area, it moves to the Sky. Does this imply if it is in a ...