Bidding is an auction mechanic common to a variety of board and card games where two or more players or teams compete for a right or privilege. Bidding is common in trick-taking card game such as bridge, and several other bidding examples are provided in the bidding wiki page.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
3answers
92 views

Do most good pre-empters do so within “tight” point ranges?

I'll use "weak two" bids as a frame of reference. My understanding of a "weak two" bid is that it is usually made with six cards of a suit, and at least five high card points (hcps). If that's all, ...
0
votes
2answers
84 views

Does the “Rule of 15” suggest that you should pass with 13 points (and short spades) in fourth seat?

Only you vulnerable, you have a 13- high card point hand like the following: (s)x (h) AJxx (d) KJxx (c) KJxx. (No x is higher than a 7). Three passes have preceded you. The "Rule of 15" suggests ...
1
vote
3answers
118 views

Can one use alternate evaluation methods, e.g. “K&R” to defend actions that appear to violate your convention card?

I'm playing in a tournament, and I fill out a convention card that says I will open with 13 or more points. I pick up a certain 14 "worst" point hand (per Milton Work's 4-3-2-1 count) and decide to ...
0
votes
1answer
71 views

Is there a bid that is “forcing to four?”

The question arises from this example hand:. The whole hand is included for reference, although you get to see only your own cards when you bid. You are North with (s) AK4 (h) Q98 (d)976 (c) AT86. ...
0
votes
2answers
39 views

If you are fourth seat after a third seat raise, can you make a takeout double with “intermediate” values?

If first seat opens, and you are in the second seat, you need opening values in order to make a take out double (that is 13-14 hcps, maybe 12 with 4-4-4-1 or 5-4-4-0 distribution, while short in ...
2
votes
1answer
74 views

Should “100 or 150 honors” allow you to open light?

By "light," mean with something like (s) AKQJx (h)Jxx (d)xxx (c)xx, or (s) KQJTx (h)Jxx (d)Axx (c)xx, or even (s) AKQJT (h)xxx (d)xxx (c)xx? I can think of two reasons. 1) I was taught that three or ...
1
vote
3answers
92 views

Are there viable alternatives to a “three level pre-empt” with a good seven card suit?

Some people I know would "pre-empt" three spades with a hand like the following: (s) AKQxxxx (h) xx (d)xx (c)xx. My preference, however is to open with a "weak two," (spades) basically treating my ...
3
votes
2answers
87 views

Is“ third seat, favorable vulnerabilty” the only appropriate time to pre-empt with “any seven” of a suit?

I would do this with 8765432 of a suit in third seat, and a "Yarborough" elsewhere in hand, and with favorable vulnerability (not vulnerable vs. vulnerable). Opposite a passed partner, I don't fear ...
1
vote
2answers
176 views

Does a light fourth seat opening work on the same principle as fourth seat “balancing?”

If dealer opens. second seat needs to be at least somewhat careful taking actions such as doubling or overcalling. That's because third seat may theoretically having "everything" (not held by first ...
3
votes
1answer
116 views

How little strength should I have in bid suits for a negative double?

In bridge, a "negative double" after my partner's opening bid, and my right hand opponent's overcall means, "Partner, I don't like your suit, and I don't fancy defending the opponent's overcall. I ...
5
votes
2answers
97 views

Do “flat” hands devalue a 4-4 trump fit?

The advantage of a 4-4 trump fit is that you can ruff in either hand, and use the other one as the master hand. But if one or both partners have little ruffing value, then might that advantage be ...
2
votes
2answers
138 views

Bridge: Which transfer do you use with both majors - one 5 carder and another 4 carder

Partner opens 1NT. With a 4 carder Spade and a 5 carder Heart, what do you do? And with a 5 carder Spade and a 4 carder Heart? Specifically, should you use Stayman, Jacoby Transfers, or some other ...
1
vote
1answer
62 views

Is the partner of a no trump opener also the team “captain” on defense?

If opener bids, say 1 NT, his partner becomes the team "captain" on further bidding because the NT opener has strictly limited both his point count and "shape" with such a bid. That is, partner can ...
4
votes
2answers
118 views

Are there partnerships that win major events by using unpopular systems?

There are some bridge combinations that most players shun, at least when possible. One of these is the so-called Moyesian or 4-3 trump fit. The result is that there are bidding systems that require ...
6
votes
1answer
135 views

Bidding: How to figure out if responder has 4 carder or 5 carder major?

Playing SAYC, you open 1 Minor. Left passes and partner bids 1 Major. How do you figure out if partner has 4 carder major or 5 carder? Obviously if left overcalls, then partner can use a negative ...
3
votes
2answers
85 views

What are bidding sequences in which the responder is likely to be the “captain” of the partnership?

I can think of two: The first one is when the opener bids no trump. Then the responder knows that the opener has a "balanced" hand, and 15-17 high card points for 1NT, 20-21 for 2NT, etc. Another ...
4
votes
2answers
197 views

How does one evaluate a hand responding to a “strong” two clubs?

When opener bids a "strong" two club, responder bids two diamonds (waiting), and the opener rebids his suit, e.g. two spades, the responder is now the "captain" of the partnership. That's because s/he ...
7
votes
3answers
244 views

Defense to Strong Pass Systems

"Strong pass" systems are classified as Highly Unusual Methods, so most players never worry about them. My understanding is that they are not particularly overpowered (otherwise all the pros would ...
5
votes
2answers
189 views

Should I reopen this hand?

I have as South AJ10x AQJxxx xx x p(N) has: xxxx Kxx xx Jxxx all vulnerable SOUTH WEST NORTH EAST 1H 3C Pass Pass ? What is South's best call and why?
2
votes
2answers
278 views

Bridge-response after intervening bid

Partner/Declarer opens 1 club RH opponent overcalls 2 diamonds Responder has a balanced 9 HCPs: S: K J x x H: x x x D: Q J x C: Q x x Should responder bid or pass? If bid, what is ...
1
vote
3answers
156 views

Do you need more to “pre-empt” with a major, than a minor suit?

When I pre-empt at say, the three level, I am doing so with a "lopsided" hand that has relatively few points and is long in one suit (and short in two or three others). Under the circumstances, if the ...
0
votes
2answers
521 views

How should I teach someone new to spades how to bid?

Bidding in spades is one of the hardest mechanics to master. The gameplay comes with experience, but sometimes bidding just goes awry. I know how I bid and that I disagree with the way other people ...
3
votes
4answers
188 views

Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?

Suppose partner bids one of a (five card) major. Normally you need three of the suit to raise. But expert Marty Bergen has opined that if your suit has four honors, you can bid it as if were one card ...
3
votes
2answers
192 views

In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?

To me, "equal vulnerability" means both sides vulnerable or both not. In sacrificing against a major suit game, "down two" means -500 when vulnerable versus -300 when not. This compares against ...
1
vote
2answers
209 views

Are there hands that should be opened at the one level in first or second seat, and with a “weak two” opposite a passing partner?

I'm referring specifically to hands like (s)AKQJx (h) Jxx (d)xxx (c) xx or (s) AKQTx (h) Qxx (d) xxx (c)xx that are technically just under the usual requirements for a one bid, but nevertheless have ...
5
votes
4answers
362 views

Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?

Partner opened with 3 spades (pre-empt). I passed with (s) xx (h) KQx (d) KQxx (c) AJxx. That's because I was expecting something like the following (with or without the side jacks): (s) KQxxxxx (h) ...
3
votes
3answers
203 views

What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?

In the opening game of a rubber, I dealt and opened two diamonds (weak) with the following: (s) J3 (h) 54 (d) KJ7532 (c) A42. Partner responded two hearts. I passed with my two weak hearts, fearing a ...
1
vote
2answers
116 views

Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”

In bridge, if you overcall two clubs over an opening one spade, you haven't taken up much bidding space, because your overcall hasn't kept your opponents out of any suits, only one NT. If you ...
1
vote
3answers
110 views

Should I have made a takeout double in the situation?

With a part score of 60 to 0 (neither side vulnerable), I dealt and bid a "strong" 1NT with: (s) QT3 (h) KQJ8 (d) KJ93 (c) K5. "West," to my left, overcalled 2 clubs. Our respective partners passed ...
0
votes
1answer
886 views

Forced Response to a Convenient Minor Open

My bridge club plays by a rule that an openng of a convenient minor requires a demand response by the partner unless intervening opponent does an overcall. Situaltion: 1. My partner opened with ...
2
votes
2answers
298 views

Are there times NOT to bid 1NT with 15 high card points and a balanced hand?

This refers to a strong (15-17) 1NT with hand shapes of 4-3-3-3, 4-4-3-2, or 5-3-3-2. With "flat" hand like (s) Kxx (h) Kxx (d) KJx (c) KQxx, I would refrain from bidding 1NT, after deducting one ...
1
vote
2answers
302 views

Opening “best of minors”

"My wife and I play a version of best of minors that was questioned by a friend as "I never heard of such a thing." We open best of minors seeking a four card major, but by opening with one club we ...
2
votes
1answer
207 views

Has the value of a five-card suit in no trump contracts been demonstrated?

Going through old bridge books (by e.g., George Coffin), I was struck by the fact that some 3NT contracts made easily with "only" 24-25 and a good five card suit, while if both declarer and dummy had ...
3
votes
2answers
454 views

When might a Standard American bidder “bend” the five card major rule?

"Five card majors" is the foundation of the Standard American system. Yet rules are made to be broken under special circumstances. My understanding is that some bidders will adhere to "five card ...
3
votes
1answer
121 views

What Other Bidding Approaches Are There?

My parents taught me how to play bridge. They grew up in the 1970s when Precision Club was popular and they taught me how to play strong club. When I grew up, SAYC and 2/1 were beaten into me. Now, I ...
0
votes
1answer
92 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “shade” one's bidding standards with a part score?

For instance, most players today bid five card majors, because that's (probably) the best way to get to a major suit game of ten tricks. But suppose my team has a part score of 40. That means that ...
1
vote
2answers
266 views

In bridge, should you be more careful with takeout doubles over one spade?

With a hand like (s) Axxx (h) KQxx (d) Kxxx (c) x, I would gladly make a takeout double over one club. That's because my partner would have a choice of three suits to bid at the one level. Change the ...
2
votes
1answer
139 views

Are there any systems or experts that factor in “intermediate” cards in deciding when to bid?

With a hand like (s) KJT864 (h)Kxx (d) Ax (c) xx, I'd open one spade, that is, with 11 hc points and six spades. (Under the rule of 20, I have 11 hcps+ 6 spades + 3 cards in my second suit=20). And ...
1
vote
3answers
475 views

In bridge, how would you bid the “worst” 14 point hand?

You are playing 15-17 point no trumps, five card majors, four card diamond bids, and three card club bids listed on many convention cards. And you have an unusual 14 high card point 4-4-3-2 hand that ...
4
votes
3answers
187 views

Is “finesses wrong for declarer” a good reason to double a (bridge) contract?

Suppose you have a hand like (s) KJx (h) xxx (d)Axxx (c) xxx, sitting "West." The (Standard American) bidding has been S 1 spade, N 2 hearts, S 2 spades N 4 spades. You and partner have passed so ...
1
vote
1answer
354 views

In bridge, are there different implications of overcalling 1NT in different positions?

Suppose I had a hand like the following: (s) KJxx (h) xxx (d) AJx (c) AKx. If I were the opening bidder, I would, of course, bid 1NT. (Note to commenter below: In this paragraph, I was describing a ...
6
votes
4answers
245 views

Bidding a very special hand

I would like your advice about what I should bid in the following situation. Partner opens 1C, I answer 1H, he bids 2H. My hand is: S : none H : K Q J x x x D : A K Q x x x C : J What should I bid ...
5
votes
3answers
1k views

If partner opens one heart, what do I need to respond with one spade?

If my partner opens one heart, and I respond one spade, am I showing four or five spades?
0
votes
2answers
554 views

What to bid in this situation (xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx, 1D-1S-2C-2D…)? (System: Simple SAYC)

I open 1D -- Partner 1S -- I bid 2C (my holding was xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx) -- Partner bids 2D -- What do I bid, and why? (since I have to respond when partner keeps changing suit and no NT has been yet ...
3
votes
2answers
270 views

In bridge, if a 1 NT bidder is doubled, is it right to “redouble for rescue?”

Suppose South opens with 1 NT (15-17). After two passes, East doubles, showing possession of most of the remaining 23-25 high card points not held by South. 1NT P P Dbl South has a flat 4-3-3-3 ...
4
votes
2answers
630 views

How do I bid using “weak Stayman” (or garbage stayman)

People like Marty Bergen have written things like, "almost anytime you're responding to your partner's 1NT and you have few clubs, you should respond 2 clubs," Stayman (this is a paraphrase, not an ...
2
votes
3answers
387 views

In bridge, how much support do you need to raise a responder?

Suppose I bid one of a (short) minor. Partner responds one of a major (one-over-one), showing at least four cards in the suit. What do I need to raise his major to two? Some books say I need four ...
3
votes
4answers
377 views

I open 1C — Partner: 1D — I bid 1S — Partner bids 2NT - What 2NT means (System: Simple SAYC)

I open 1C -- Partner 1D -- I respond 1S -- Partner bids 2NT - What 2NT means, and how do I respond to it with this hand: Kxxx-Kx-xx-AQxxx? Note: since I'm studying simple sayc what concerns me is ...
3
votes
2answers
504 views

Opening bids with no long suits

My partner and I play a strong NT and 5 card Majors. However, we're unsure how to open strong hands with no long suits. For example, how do we open a 4432 hand with 16-19 high card points or 20-22 ...
10
votes
3answers
197 views

American Five Card majors - using Jacoby to respond to a 2NT opening bid

Playing Bridge last night my partner opened 2NT, showing 20-21 points. I had 11 HCP and a five card major. I used Jacoby Transfer, calling 3 hearts and my partner responded 3 spades (all OK so far) I ...