A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

0
votes
1answer
44 views

What are the preconditions for a trump promotion in bridge?

My understanding is that there are two main conditions. The first is that the defense has a long suit with which they can set up a "ruffing finesse," usually against the declarer's trumps by leading ...
7
votes
2answers
620 views

In Bridge, Does It Make Sense to Pre-empt in Fourth Seat?

In one of my games, there were three passes. Fourth seat elected to "pre-empt," three hearts with something like the following: ♠xx ♥KQJxxxx ♦Jxx ♣x One of the opponents doubled (for penalties), ...
3
votes
3answers
93 views

Do most good pre-empters do so within “tight” point ranges?

I'll use "weak two" bids as a frame of reference. My understanding of a "weak two" bid is that it is usually made with six cards of a suit, and at least five high card points (hcps). If that's all, ...
3
votes
5answers
312 views

In bridge, does it make sense to “tighten” or 'loosen" up on bidding depending on vulnerability?

For instance, the minimum standard seems to be about 12 points to open with a five card suit, or 13 points with a four card minor. That makes sense with equal vulnerability (both vulnerable or both ...
0
votes
2answers
85 views

Does the “Rule of 15” suggest that you should pass with 13 points (and short spades) in fourth seat?

Only you vulnerable, you have a 13- high card point hand like the following: (s)x (h) AJxx (d) KJxx (c) KJxx. (No x is higher than a 7). Three passes have preceded you. The "Rule of 15" suggests ...
2
votes
1answer
61 views

Looking at your the last card played

Is it legal for declarer to look at his/her last card played after the cards from that round are all face down?
3
votes
4answers
188 views

Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?

Suppose partner bids one of a (five card) major. Normally you need three of the suit to raise. But expert Marty Bergen has opined that if your suit has four honors, you can bid it as if were one card ...
0
votes
1answer
101 views

Am I analyzing the following hand properly?

Vulnerable vs. not, N-S are in a 4S contract (South 1NT, North 4H, South 4S, all other bids passed). North's bid was a "transfer." QJ9832 JT4 A64 5 AKT7 A96 T72 AJ9 Frank Stewart reasonably ...
3
votes
2answers
117 views

Can you suspect false carding from the following situation?

You are playing this hand at 3NT having arrived there after you bid 1NT and North 3NT, East and West having passed throughout. Only you are vulnerable. (The hand is linked for reference; but you'd ...
1
vote
3answers
118 views

Can one use alternate evaluation methods, e.g. “K&R” to defend actions that appear to violate your convention card?

I'm playing in a tournament, and I fill out a convention card that says I will open with 13 or more points. I pick up a certain 14 "worst" point hand (per Milton Work's 4-3-2-1 count) and decide to ...
0
votes
2answers
78 views

Under what circumstances is a declare allowed to “pause” upon seeing the dummy?

My understanding is that this is allowed when a declarer has "technical" problems. So in a sense, the question is about what constitutes a legitimate technical problem. If the declarer wins the first ...
2
votes
1answer
74 views

Should “100 or 150 honors” allow you to open light?

By "light," mean with something like (s) AKQJx (h)Jxx (d)xxx (c)xx, or (s) KQJTx (h)Jxx (d)Axx (c)xx, or even (s) AKQJT (h)xxx (d)xxx (c)xx? I can think of two reasons. 1) I was taught that three or ...
0
votes
1answer
71 views

Is there a bid that is “forcing to four?”

The question arises from this example hand:. The whole hand is included for reference, although you get to see only your own cards when you bid. You are North with (s) AK4 (h) Q98 (d)976 (c) AT86. ...
0
votes
2answers
39 views

If you are fourth seat after a third seat raise, can you make a takeout double with “intermediate” values?

If first seat opens, and you are in the second seat, you need opening values in order to make a take out double (that is 13-14 hcps, maybe 12 with 4-4-4-1 or 5-4-4-0 distribution, while short in ...
5
votes
3answers
232 views

Teamwork in bridge

I am new to contract bridge, and wish to understand how it is a team game. I am playing at a low level, but it seems that it is more like two individuals that are playing for the same side, rather ...
5
votes
2answers
395 views

What constitutes “wrongful” hesitation in bridge?

The protagonist is West (W). Declarer leads a small card of a suit in which dummy, to W's left, has A8. West hesitates before playing in the following four situations: He has Kx (x<8). This ...
1
vote
3answers
92 views

Are there viable alternatives to a “three level pre-empt” with a good seven card suit?

Some people I know would "pre-empt" three spades with a hand like the following: (s) AKQxxxx (h) xx (d)xx (c)xx. My preference, however is to open with a "weak two," (spades) basically treating my ...
3
votes
2answers
87 views

Is“ third seat, favorable vulnerabilty” the only appropriate time to pre-empt with “any seven” of a suit?

I would do this with 8765432 of a suit in third seat, and a "Yarborough" elsewhere in hand, and with favorable vulnerability (not vulnerable vs. vulnerable). Opposite a passed partner, I don't fear ...
4
votes
1answer
131 views

Should I alert a conventional 'Pass'

My partner and I have a pretty neat system for bidding against opponents opening a weak 2 (2 in a Major = <11 HCP, 6-card; 2 Diamonds as either the Multi or weak with diamonds). In this system, if ...
2
votes
1answer
107 views

If you decide to play for “top or bottom” in duplicate, are you supposed to consult with partner?

Sometimes, if a player falls behind in a duplicate tournament, he will try to alter his standing by doing things that the "crowd" would not (e.g. making safety plays), getting a top score if he is ...
2
votes
1answer
140 views

In duplicate, is it ethical to base your play on other people's body language?

In bridge, there are some times when you can assure yourself of x number of tricks (just enough for your contract) by making a safety play to guard against an adverse 4-1 distribution. If you don't ...
1
vote
2answers
176 views

Does a light fourth seat opening work on the same principle as fourth seat “balancing?”

If dealer opens. second seat needs to be at least somewhat careful taking actions such as doubling or overcalling. That's because third seat may theoretically having "everything" (not held by first ...
1
vote
3answers
683 views

Bidding response to convenient minor bid

If responder to a convenient minor 1 bid has 5 points or less I have been told the correct bid is 1 notrump. Is a convenient minor 1 bid a demand bid?
2
votes
1answer
70 views

With which “non-trump” holdings is a 4-4 fit superior to a 5-4 fit?

If a partnership has both a 4-4 and 5-4 holding on one deal, I could see why it would make sense to have the 4-4 holding be the trump suit. The 5-4 holding can take "long" tricks with the fourth and ...
4
votes
2answers
112 views

With what kind of trump holdings is a 4-4 trump fit superior?

One poster has noted on other questions that a 4-4 trump fit was better almost a trick better than a 5-3 trump fit,and had a smaller premium over a 5-4 fit because of the ability to make either hand ...
8
votes
4answers
155 views

Does it make sense for a defender to lead a short major when opponents fail to find a fit using Stayman?

Both vulnerable, at rubber, South dealt and bid 1NT, North 2 clubs, South 2 hearts, North 3NT. You, West, have (s) 64 (h) AJ7 (d)J8752 (c) Q84. North clearly has four spades, but not hearts. Any ...
5
votes
2answers
97 views

Do “flat” hands devalue a 4-4 trump fit?

The advantage of a 4-4 trump fit is that you can ruff in either hand, and use the other one as the master hand. But if one or both partners have little ruffing value, then might that advantage be ...
3
votes
1answer
116 views

How little strength should I have in bid suits for a negative double?

In bridge, a "negative double" after my partner's opening bid, and my right hand opponent's overcall means, "Partner, I don't like your suit, and I don't fancy defending the opponent's overcall. I ...
1
vote
2answers
143 views

Was a bridge column “resulting” when it criticized an opening lead?

Both sides vulnerable, South dealt and bid one heart. West overcalled one spade, North three hearts, East three spades, South four hearts, East four spades, South five hearts. West held (s) KQJT8 ...
4
votes
1answer
162 views

is party bridge the same as rubber bridge?

I am in a group that says we play party bridge and the rules for honors are different than for rubber bridge. What exactly are the differences between party bridge and rubber bridge, and why are they ...
3
votes
2answers
74 views

Does it make sense for a defender to occasionally adopt a slightly inferior line in order to “mix up” the play?

Here's the original question that inspired this one: It was about whether West should lead a short major instead of a long, weak minor when the opponents failed to find a fit using Stayman. A number ...
5
votes
5answers
516 views

In Bridge, Do You Count Defensive Points In the Opponents' Suit When Making a Takeout Double?

Left hand opponent opened 1 heart. Partner doubled for takeout. Right hand opponent passed. I "had to" bid 2 clubs with something like (S) xxx (H) xx (D) Jxxx (C) Jxxx. We were doubled for penalties, ...
31
votes
11answers
3k views

Why is the strong 1NT so prevalent in Bridge?

Bridge is widely considered to be the queen of card games on both sides of the Atlantic. However, there's one huge difference between the way that (most) Americans and (most) Britons play. In ...
8
votes
6answers
3k views

What can the dummy player do in Bridge?

We're learning to play Bridge from Gramma, who played the game a lot ~40 years ago but doesn't really remember the rules (or, at least, the reasons behind some rules and conventions). One of the ...
3
votes
2answers
195 views

Grand slam bidding with high card points hand

What is my opening bid with a 24 high card point hand, so that I don't get 3 passes and end up short of slam? AKQJx AKx Ax KQJ, I think. One year players. So rare to see this hand. Partner had 11 ...
6
votes
2answers
124 views

Bridge guide for experienced Spades player?

I'm a long-time online Spades player who's never played a single hand of Bridge, but I'd love to give it a try sometimes. I've always felt that the games seem rather similar, so I was looking for ...
2
votes
3answers
223 views

How do you decide which way to finesse for an ace?

This is from the New York Post, which is to say that it is a "problem." You are declarer (South) in a 3 no trump contract. You get a "friendly" lead in a suit where you have three winners (two in ...
5
votes
3answers
454 views

What Is a “Reverse” In Bridge?

Partner opened one diamond. I responded 1 NT with the following hand. ♠Txxx ♥Axx ♦Txxx ♣Ax Partner then rebid two spades. I raised to four spades, reading my partner for 17 points or so. We went ...
2
votes
2answers
138 views

Bridge: Which transfer do you use with both majors - one 5 carder and another 4 carder

Partner opens 1NT. With a 4 carder Spade and a 5 carder Heart, what do you do? And with a 5 carder Spade and a 4 carder Heart? Specifically, should you use Stayman, Jacoby Transfers, or some other ...
2
votes
2answers
278 views

Bridge-response after intervening bid

Partner/Declarer opens 1 club RH opponent overcalls 2 diamonds Responder has a balanced 9 HCPs: S: K J x x H: x x x D: Q J x C: Q x x Should responder bid or pass? If bid, what is ...
2
votes
1answer
116 views

How many spades does my partner have when responding to my opening 1club bid and left overcalls 1 heart

I open with 1 club. Left bids 1 hearts. My partner bids 1 spade. How many spades can I assume my partner has?
4
votes
3answers
207 views

Bridge: Opening lead from AK - why K instead of A

Many books, including Goren, recommend leading K from both a AK (or AKQ) and also a KQ. Why an ambiguous lead like this? Why not A from AK and K from KQ? Consider a trump contract. Partner ...
2
votes
4answers
290 views

Should I respond to 1 NT in a suit or NT holding 17 HCP and a void?

My partner opened a "strong" one NT. I am holding: ♠ void ♥ KJxx ♦ AKQxxx ♣ KJx What should I bid?
6
votes
1answer
66 views

bridge question regarding answering opening of 1 of a major

If opener opens 1s how many hearts does responder need to respond with 2h (has 10 points). If opener opens 1h how many spades does responder need to respond 1 spade (6-9 points)
2
votes
1answer
97 views

In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?

You are in a four spade contract, (West and East passed throughout), and the two suits of interest are spades, and a side suit (call it hearts). These are the North and South hands, as given in a ...
1
vote
1answer
62 views

Is the partner of a no trump opener also the team “captain” on defense?

If opener bids, say 1 NT, his partner becomes the team "captain" on further bidding because the NT opener has strictly limited both his point count and "shape" with such a bid. That is, partner can ...
4
votes
2answers
118 views

Are there partnerships that win major events by using unpopular systems?

There are some bridge combinations that most players shun, at least when possible. One of these is the so-called Moyesian or 4-3 trump fit. The result is that there are bidding systems that require ...
5
votes
1answer
93 views

What penalty should the Dummy receive for telegraphing to his partner after play has started?

What penalty should the Dummy receive for touching cards or moving cards forward? After play started, when his partner led to the diamonds, Dummy arranged them again in my mind to make sure she knew ...
6
votes
1answer
135 views

Bidding: How to figure out if responder has 4 carder or 5 carder major?

Playing SAYC, you open 1 Minor. Left passes and partner bids 1 Major. How do you figure out if partner has 4 carder major or 5 carder? Obviously if left overcalls, then partner can use a negative ...
1
vote
2answers
162 views

Website / software for playing bridge against computer, but partnering with a human

There seems to be a lot of websites offering games against computer AND with a computer partner. There is also plenty of portals where you can play with 3 other people. I am looking for something in ...