A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so. When asking questions on bidding or play, please specify scoring system (Rubber, Matchpoints, IMPS, ec.), Dealer, vulnerability for both sides, full ...

learn more… | top users | synonyms

1
vote
3answers
788 views

Bidding response to convenient minor bid

If responder to a convenient minor 1 bid has 5 points or less I have been told the correct bid is 1 notrump. Is a convenient minor 1 bid a demand bid?
2
votes
1answer
90 views

With which “non-trump” holdings is a 4-4 fit superior to a 5-4 fit?

If a partnership has both a 4-4 and 5-4 holding on one deal, I could see why it would make sense to have the 4-4 holding be the trump suit. The 5-4 holding can take "long" tricks with the fourth and ...
4
votes
2answers
150 views

With what kind of trump holdings is a 4-4 trump fit superior?

One poster has noted on other questions that a 4-4 trump fit was better almost a trick better than a 5-3 trump fit,and had a smaller premium over a 5-4 fit because of the ability to make either hand ...
8
votes
4answers
166 views

Does it make sense for a defender to lead a short major when opponents fail to find a fit using Stayman?

Both vulnerable, at rubber, South dealt and bid 1NT, North 2 clubs, South 2 hearts, North 3NT. You, West, have (s) 64 (h) AJ7 (d)J8752 (c) Q84. North clearly has four spades, but not hearts. Any ...
5
votes
2answers
107 views

Do “flat” hands devalue a 4-4 trump fit?

The advantage of a 4-4 trump fit is that you can ruff in either hand, and use the other one as the master hand. But if one or both partners have little ruffing value, then might that advantage be ...
3
votes
1answer
147 views

How little strength should I have in bid suits for a negative double?

In bridge, a "negative double" after my partner's opening bid, and my right hand opponent's overcall means, "Partner, I don't like your suit, and I don't fancy defending the opponent's overcall. I ...
1
vote
2answers
145 views

Was a bridge column “resulting” when it criticized an opening lead?

Both sides vulnerable, South dealt and bid one heart. West overcalled one spade, North three hearts, East three spades, South four hearts, East four spades, South five hearts. West held (s) KQJT8 (h)...
4
votes
1answer
375 views

is party bridge the same as rubber bridge?

I am in a group that says we play party bridge and the rules for honors are different than for rubber bridge. What exactly are the differences between party bridge and rubber bridge, and why are they ...
3
votes
2answers
76 views

Does it make sense for a defender to occasionally adopt a slightly inferior line in order to “mix up” the play?

Here's the original question that inspired this one: It was about whether West should lead a short major instead of a long, weak minor when the opponents failed to find a fit using Stayman. A number ...
31
votes
11answers
4k views

Why is the strong 1NT so prevalent in Bridge?

Bridge is widely considered to be the queen of card games on both sides of the Atlantic. However, there's one huge difference between the way that (most) Americans and (most) Britons play. In ...
8
votes
6answers
3k views

What can the dummy player do in Bridge?

We're learning to play Bridge from Gramma, who played the game a lot ~40 years ago but doesn't really remember the rules (or, at least, the reasons behind some rules and conventions). One of the ...
3
votes
2answers
238 views

Grand slam bidding with high card points hand

What is my opening bid with a 24 high card point hand, so that I don't get 3 passes and end up short of slam? AKQJx AKx Ax KQJ, I think. One year players. So rare to see this hand. Partner had 11 ...
6
votes
2answers
133 views

Bridge guide for experienced Spades player?

I'm a long-time online Spades player who's never played a single hand of Bridge, but I'd love to give it a try sometimes. I've always felt that the games seem rather similar, so I was looking for ...
2
votes
3answers
233 views

How do you decide which way to finesse for an ace?

This is from the New York Post, which is to say that it is a "problem." You are declarer (South) in a 3 no trump contract. You get a "friendly" lead in a suit where you have three winners (two in ...
5
votes
3answers
479 views

What Is a “Reverse” In Bridge?

Partner opened one diamond. I responded 1 NT with the following hand. ♠Txxx ♥Axx ♦Txxx ♣Ax Partner then rebid two spades. I raised to four spades, reading my partner for 17 points or so. We went ...
2
votes
2answers
161 views

Bridge: Which transfer do you use with both majors - one 5 carder and another 4 carder

Partner opens 1NT. With a 4 carder Spade and a 5 carder Heart, what do you do? And with a 5 carder Spade and a 4 carder Heart? Specifically, should you use Stayman, Jacoby Transfers, or some other ...
2
votes
2answers
386 views

Bridge-response after intervening bid

Partner/Declarer opens 1 club RH opponent overcalls 2 diamonds Responder has a balanced 9 HCPs: S: K J x x H: x x x D: Q J x C: Q x x Should responder bid or pass? If bid, what is ...
2
votes
1answer
138 views

How many spades does my partner have when responding to my opening 1club bid and left overcalls 1 heart

I open with 1 club. Left bids 1 hearts. My partner bids 1 spade. How many spades can I assume my partner has?
4
votes
3answers
265 views

Bridge: Opening lead from AK - why K instead of A

Many books, including Goren, recommend leading K from both a AK (or AKQ) and also a KQ. Why an ambiguous lead like this? Why not A from AK and K from KQ? Consider a trump contract. Partner ...
2
votes
4answers
298 views

Should I respond to 1 NT in a suit or NT holding 17 HCP and a void?

My partner opened a "strong" one NT. I am holding: ♠ void ♥ KJxx ♦ AKQxxx ♣ KJx What should I bid?
6
votes
1answer
83 views

bridge question regarding answering opening of 1 of a major

If opener opens 1s how many hearts does responder need to respond with 2h (has 10 points). If opener opens 1h how many spades does responder need to respond 1 spade (6-9 points)
2
votes
1answer
100 views

In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?

You are in a four spade contract, (West and East passed throughout), and the two suits of interest are spades, and a side suit (call it hearts). These are the North and South hands, as given in a ...
1
vote
1answer
66 views

Is the partner of a no trump opener also the team “captain” on defense?

If opener bids, say 1 NT, his partner becomes the team "captain" on further bidding because the NT opener has strictly limited both his point count and "shape" with such a bid. That is, partner can ...
4
votes
2answers
127 views

Are there partnerships that win major events by using unpopular systems?

There are some bridge combinations that most players shun, at least when possible. One of these is the so-called Moyesian or 4-3 trump fit. The result is that there are bidding systems that require "...
5
votes
1answer
111 views

What penalty should the Dummy receive for telegraphing to his partner after play has started?

What penalty should the Dummy receive for touching cards or moving cards forward? After play started, when his partner led to the diamonds, Dummy arranged them again in my mind to make sure she knew ...
6
votes
1answer
165 views

Bidding: How to figure out if responder has 4 carder or 5 carder major?

Playing SAYC, you open 1 Minor. Left passes and partner bids 1 Major. How do you figure out if partner has 4 carder major or 5 carder? Obviously if left overcalls, then partner can use a negative ...
1
vote
2answers
204 views

Website / software for playing bridge against computer, but partnering with a human

There seems to be a lot of websites offering games against computer AND with a computer partner. There is also plenty of portals where you can play with 3 other people. I am looking for something in ...
2
votes
1answer
216 views

Par-zero deal with many points for N/S [closed]

This question is about the card game bridge : How many points can N/S have in a par-zero deal ? (Only consider the high card points) In a par-zero deal, no player can make any contract assuming ...
3
votes
2answers
492 views

When might a Standard American bidder “bend” the five card major rule?

"Five card majors" is the foundation of the Standard American system. Yet rules are made to be broken under special circumstances. My understanding is that some bidders will adhere to "five card ...
8
votes
5answers
333 views

How do you find not-quite-club level human opponents to regularly play bridge with?

What's a good way to to go about finding human bridge players (kids or adults) that is less intense than what you find at duplicate bridge clubs, but more competitive and learning oriented than ...
4
votes
3answers
131 views

Does the possibility of claiming tricks prevent the defense from profitting from declarer's errors?

Suppose, the declarer claims 12 tricks in a slam, but you have the opinion that declarer can make a mistake. Can you demand declarer to play it out, or does the tournament director decide how many ...
6
votes
2answers
452 views

In Bridge, what is the punishment for misclaiming tricks?

Down to the last two rounds in rubber bridge. Declarer claims remaining tricks only to discover that he has miscounted. He claims the two tricks with Q-10; however, opponent holds the J and ...
2
votes
1answer
82 views

How are missing alerts handled?

If a side misses an alert and the other side protests, the tournament director must decide if the missing alert is a disadvantage for the protesting side. It is not possible to check, if the ...
1
vote
2answers
881 views

In bridge, can the “rule of 20” be used outside of opening bids (e.g for takeout doubles)?

Here's another example from today's New York Post. West opened 1 club. (He had a 19 point 1NT hand, and was planning to re-bid 2NT.) North made a (takeout) double with (s) KQxxx (h) Qxxxx (d) xx (c) x,...
3
votes
0answers
136 views

Richard Pavliceks mystery

Richard Pavlicek made a great bridge site. Here http://www.rpbridge.net/7f55.htm The mystery is this: Is there a bridge hand where North/South can make a grandslam in any suit, but not even ...
3
votes
1answer
172 views

Claiming honours in rubber bridge

When playing rubber bridge, can the declarer still claim after the hand is over but the next hand has not been dealt?
16
votes
5answers
2k views

Why are beginning to intermediate bridge players told to delay learning how to bid certain types of unusual hands?

When learning modern bidding (Standard American 5 card majors in my case), I noticed that the system's bidding techniques and common conventions described good ways of getting to a reasonable contract ...
4
votes
2answers
228 views

How does one evaluate a hand responding to a “strong” two clubs?

When opener bids a "strong" two club, responder bids two diamonds (waiting), and the opener rebids his suit, e.g. two spades, the responder is now the "captain" of the partnership. That's because s/he ...
3
votes
2answers
128 views

Bridge the 3 card 7 club bid

chair one opened 1 spade I was chair two and said 3 clubs, saying , I have 7 clubs and a outside ace and not 13 pts to open? She says I would have to open 4 clubs for it to mean that, Who's right, of ...
7
votes
3answers
289 views

Defense to Strong Pass Systems

"Strong pass" systems are classified as Highly Unusual Methods, so most players never worry about them. My understanding is that they are not particularly overpowered (otherwise all the pros would ...
2
votes
2answers
333 views

Are there times NOT to bid 1NT with 15 high card points and a balanced hand?

This refers to a strong (15-17) 1NT with hand shapes of 4-3-3-3, 4-4-3-2, or 5-3-3-2. With "flat" hand like (s) Kxx (h) Kxx (d) KJx (c) KQxx, I would refrain from bidding 1NT, after deducting one ...
3
votes
3answers
248 views

What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?

In the opening game of a rubber, I dealt and opened two diamonds (weak) with the following: (s) J3 (h) 54 (d) KJ7532 (c) A42. Partner responded two hearts. I passed with my two weak hearts, fearing a ...
1
vote
7answers
3k views

Why Do People Use “Precision” Bidding in Bridge?

As I understand it, in the "precision" bidding system in bridge, you open one club with 16+ points (a greater than minimum opening hand), while all the other "one" level bids show 13-15 (a minimum). ...
5
votes
2answers
197 views

Should I reopen this hand?

I have as South AJ10x AQJxxx xx x p(N) has: xxxx Kxx xx Jxxx all vulnerable SOUTH WEST NORTH EAST 1H 3C Pass Pass ? What is South's best call and why?
6
votes
2answers
410 views

In Bridge, What Is “Playing the Card You Are Known to Hold?”

If you're a declarer, and West leads the queen of spades, with dummy showing the Kx of the suit, while you have Axx in the closed hand, you might take the trick with the K from the dummy, thereby not ...
13
votes
3answers
5k views

Why is there a bonus for holding honors in bridge? Isn't having 4-5 of the highest trumps privileges enough?

After I read about honors in bridge, I quickly started wondering why they were added to the scoring system. Its obviously a privilege to be holding the cards required, so I can see why the scoring ...
6
votes
1answer
168 views

duplicate bridge revoke not agreed upon

A strange one, for sure. After the hand was played, cards returned to board but before the next round was called, the defenders realized, in discussing the hand, that the declarer had revoked. ...
1
vote
1answer
146 views

“Dead Rubber” definitive etymology

What's the etymology of the phrase "dead rubber". Googling attributes it to some obscure bridge reference, but I don't seem to understand it.
3
votes
3answers
194 views

Is there a reasonable suit preference signal on this lead?

The contract is 3 NT, and the bidding has been a straightforward, 1NT, pass, 3NT, all pass. West leads the king of diamonds from AKTxx. The defenders have agreed that this means three honors, ...
11
votes
4answers
5k views

Bridge - Counting and Visualising

Been playing Bridge for a couple of years now. Have improved in bidding, strategy and other stuff. But one place where there is no improvement is counting and visualising. At best, I can keep track ...