A 4 player trick-taking card game where opposing partners try to either take the number of tricks they bid or prevent their opponents from doing so.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
2answers
194 views

In “Standard” American, Is It Possible to Bid the Opposing Suit “Naturally” Over a Takeout Double?

I dealt and bid one heart with the following: ♠Axx ♥AQJxx ♦Jxx ♣xx Left hand opponent doubled for takeout. Partner passed with something like K♦, Q♣ ...
1
vote
1answer
159 views

In bridge, are there different implications of overcalling 1NT in different positions?

Suppose I had a hand like the following: (s) KJxx (h) xxx (d) AJx (c) AKx. If I were the opening bidder, I would, of course, bid 1NT. (Note to commenter below: In this paragraph, I was describing a ...
4
votes
3answers
147 views

Is “finesses wrong for declarer” a good reason to double a (bridge) contract?

Suppose you have a hand like (s) KJx (h) xxx (d)Axxx (c) xxx, sitting "West." The (Standard American) bidding has been S 1 spade, N 2 hearts, S 2 spades N 4 spades. You and partner have passed so ...
5
votes
3answers
149 views

Are there any bridge systems where cards played convey deeper information in a manner similar to bidding systems?

Such a system might be too complex for a human to consistently/safely implement, but I am curious if they exist. I am imagining a system where your choice of suit or rank to lead or follow with could ...
2
votes
1answer
146 views

Can one show that a majority of bridge hands could have been successfully defended?

In noting the importance of defense in overall bridge scores, a bridge teacher opined that half or more contracts were either defeated or could have been. I was wondering if available records of the ...
4
votes
3answers
523 views

In bridge, what are the proper followups to a Jacoby transfer?

In bridge, over a 1 NT opening, a responder might bid 2D with five hearts asking the opener to "transfer" to 2H, or bid 2H with five spades, asking for a transfer to 2S. The idea is to try to find an ...
4
votes
3answers
497 views

Is Duplicate Bridge (standard Matchpoints) a game of pure skill?

I'm inclined to say "no" because because each of the following could be considered lucky: A finesse can be tried 2 different ways and your partnership selects the one that works You play a routine, ...
6
votes
5answers
248 views

How do you find not-quite-club level human opponents to regularly play bridge with?

What's a good way to to go about finding human bridge players (kids or adults) that is less intense than what you find at duplicate bridge clubs, but more competitive and learning oriented than ...
11
votes
2answers
454 views

Is there a good casual online place to practice/learn bridge?

I know that Pogo.com (which powers Yahoo Games) has a long running online bridge game and that there are a handful of places for serious tournament/MasterPoint level bridge players online (though most ...
1
vote
1answer
141 views

Did a bridge column make errors in discussing a hand?

This is from yesterday's New York Post. North-South are playing at four spades. Vulnerable, they had bid 1 spade, 2 spades, 4 spades, no opposing bids. Here's the hand: North (s) AQ9 ...
3
votes
2answers
133 views

How to identify when to try a “Merriamac Coup” in bridge?

A "Merrimac Coup" in bridge usually refers to the "suicidal" lead of a king, in order to force out an opposing ace before the opponent is ready to use the ace as an entry. If that hand (usually dummy) ...
1
vote
6answers
2k views

Why Do People Use “Precision” Bidding in Bridge?

As I understand it, in the "precision" bidding system in bridge, you open one club with 16+ points (a greater than minimum opening hand), while all the other "one" level bids show 13-15 (a minimum). ...
3
votes
2answers
278 views

In bridge, what opening bid(s) should be made with a high card point in “no man's land”?

Recently, I was dealt a hand with a high card point and distribution too strong to open 1 NT but not enough to bid 2 of a suit, i.e. in "no man's land". Any advice you can provide about how I should ...
1
vote
1answer
421 views

What are rules for an overcall that have wide acceptance? [closed]

This question was inspired by this link, http://www.jazclass.aust.com/bridge/br14.htm which required a five card suit with two honors, at least one of them a queen or higher, for a one-level overcall. ...
4
votes
2answers
196 views

In bridge,should a responder devalue her hand if short in opener's suit?

I opened a "strong two clubs." Partner bid 2 NT, which between us, meant "9-plus points, slam interest." I bid my suit, 3 spades, with the following: (s) AKQxxx (h) AKx (d) Ax (c) xx. That's a ...
10
votes
5answers
414 views

What is the point in disclosure of the bidding system to opponents?

I fully understand and agree with the rule "do not communicate in illegal ways" (pose, tone of voice, etc), but I don't quite understand the point in requiring the disclosure of one's bidding system ...
7
votes
3answers
302 views

Why it is important to make a delayed raise and not jump directly to 4-lvl? (System: simple SAYC)

On responding with 13 pts and 4-card major support why it is important to make a delayed raise (e.g. change suit and only then jump to 4-lvl) and not jump directly to 4-lvl- what added value does it ...
2
votes
3answers
216 views

Bidding game (simple SAYC)

Partner opens 1D -- I respond 1H -- Partner responds with 2D -- (I have 3 spades, 5 hearts, 1 clubs, 4 diamonds, 13 hcp) --> I'm tempted to bid 3NT now. Should I always get to game with me and partner ...
3
votes
2answers
217 views

In bridge, if a 1 NT bidder is doubled, is it right to “redouble for rescue?”

Suppose South opens with 1 NT (15-17). After two passes, East doubles, showing possession of most of the remaining 23-25 high card points not held by South. 1NT P P Dbl South has a flat 4-3-3-3 ...
0
votes
2answers
344 views

What to bid in this situation (xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx, 1D-1S-2C-2D…)? (System: Simple SAYC)

I open 1D -- Partner 1S -- I bid 2C (my holding was xx-Kx-AQTxx-AQxx) -- Partner bids 2D -- What do I bid, and why? (since I have to respond when partner keeps changing suit and no NT has been yet ...
2
votes
3answers
293 views

When should a bridge defender return the second, rather than fourth highest card in suit?

Against a bidding sequence of 1NT, 3NT, partner, West, opens with what looks like the fourth highest of a suit. Dummy goes down with two small cards in the suit. I have four to the king in the suit, ...
4
votes
2answers
339 views

How do I bid using “weak Stayman” (or garbage stayman)

People like Marty Bergen have written things like, "almost anytime you're responding to your partner's 1NT and you have few clubs, you should respond 2 clubs," Stayman (this is a paraphrase, not an ...
4
votes
1answer
208 views

Simplest form of RKCB - asking for kings after asking for queen

According to wikipedia on RKCB, after an 03 or 14 response ...the 4NT bidder may ask about [the queen] using the cheapest bid other than five of the trump suit. The code for replies to that "queen ...
4
votes
4answers
517 views

When and how do you use suit preference signals in bridge?

One example is when you (West) lead a singleton against a trump contract, hopefully to your partner's ace, s/he takes it, and then East leads back a spot card in the suit for you to ruff. Besides the ...
3
votes
2answers
263 views

Opening bids with no long suits

My partner and I play a strong NT and 5 card Majors. However, we're unsure how to open strong hands with no long suits. For example, how do we open a 4432 hand with 16-19 high card points or 20-22 ...
1
vote
2answers
77 views

Question on leading

In bridge, what is the priority in leading when partner bid spades, and contract is clubs, and I have ace and queen of spades. Does the rule "do not underlead an ace" here override the rule "lead with ...
9
votes
3answers
147 views

American Five Card majors - using Jacoby to respond to a 2NT opening bid

Playing Bridge last night my partner opened 2NT, showing 20-21 points. I had 11 HCP and a five card major. I used Jacoby Transfer, calling 3 hearts and my partner responded 3 spades (all OK so far) I ...
2
votes
3answers
159 views

In bridge, how much support do you need to raise a responder?

Suppose I bid one of a (short) minor. Partner responds one of a major (one-over-one), showing at least four cards in the suit. What do I need to raise his major to two? Some books say I need four ...
4
votes
1answer
115 views

How is bridge for beginners taught in Taiwan or Italy today, Precision or another method?

I play duplicate bridge, and have recently begun studying the Precision bidding system on my own. Precision was invented by C.C. Wei in the 1960's with Truscott's assistance, and was used with great ...
1
vote
2answers
61 views

In bridge, is there a way to determine when and where to “transfer control” to defeat a squeeze?

I am West, defending a no trump contract. (No bids by our side, no other bids than NT by the opponents.) We're down to the last few cards, and I have two suits, call them diamonds and clubs, like ...
7
votes
3answers
158 views

What general approach should be taken opening hands with 3=1=4=5 and 1=3=4=5 shape?

If my hand is not good enough to reverse, what should I do with a hand like Kxx x KJxx AQxxx That is, a minimum opener with a singleton major, 4 diamonds, and 5 clubs (assuming that I'm playing ...
3
votes
1answer
190 views

In bridge, how do you tell when to use holdup versus blocking plays?

You are the declarer at a 3NT contract (1NT, 3NT, no opposing bids). West leads what appears to be a five card suit, and you have Axx in dummy. Your main concern is that East can get the setting ...
1
vote
1answer
96 views

In rubber bridge, when should you “lead your partner's suit rather than your own?”

With equal vulnerability, opponents bid 1 club, 1 spade, 1NT, 3NT. I'm sitting West, opening from: (s) xxx (h) J8732 (d) T9x (c) xx. I don't fancy leading my ragged hearts suit with no side entry. ...
3
votes
4answers
170 views

I open 1C — Partner: 1D — I bid 1S — Partner bids 2NT - What 2NT means (System: Simple SAYC)

I open 1C -- Partner 1D -- I respond 1S -- Partner bids 2NT - What 2NT means, and how do I respond to it with this hand: Kxxx-Kx-xx-AQxxx? Note: since I'm studying simple sayc what concerns me is ...
8
votes
3answers
658 views

Online resources for learning/practicing bridge [duplicate]

Are there any good online resources to learn the game. By learn, I mean learn attain the knowledge that one would by buying/reading a good book. For example, are there any "puzzles" that are well ...
1
vote
2answers
78 views

Responder' rebid with unbalanced hand (system: Simple SAYC)

I have 1S-4H-4D-4C, 15 PTS. I open 1D -- Partner: 1S --> Now my options are: I can't bid 1NT (no nt distribution). I want to show that I have more than minimum (12-14 pts), so I don't want to bid ...
3
votes
2answers
185 views

Does one need to bid Stayman with a flat distribution?

This example is from a book. South opens 1NT (15-17) with: (s) AKx (h) JTxx (d) Kxx (c) Axx. North has (s) Qxx (h)Axxx (d) Axx (c) xxx and goes to 3NT. The author (George Coffin) says that North ...
1
vote
3answers
688 views

Opener's rebid of 2NT (system: Simple SAYC)

I opened with 1H - Partner bid 2C - (I have 5 hearts, 12 pts, 3spades 3diamonds 2clubs). I have to respond, but responding 2NT would mean I have 18 pts (my written source on this is: ...
4
votes
3answers
147 views

Are there many mandated “time outs” in tournament bridge?

In "Points, Schmoints," Marty Bergen related an instance in which he announced "skip bid," before "jumping" his partner's two diamond bid to the five level (instead of three). According to him, his ...
7
votes
3answers
179 views

Can one ask for a “time out” to study the hand in bridge?

"West" (the opening leader) has to lead before seeing the dummy. Both declarer (South) and partner (East) ought to study the dummy before playing. But often they do not. Suppose South wins the trick, ...
2
votes
3answers
255 views

Responding to a simple overcall (SAYC)

LHO opened with 1C – Partner overcalled with 1S – (I have 6 pts, 4 Spades) → Do I respond with 2S? P.S. rho pass. EDIT : what my gripe with this is, that according to textbooks, you respond to ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

In Bridge, What's the Difference Between the Blackwood And Gerber Conventions?

I have an idea that both conventions are used to check for aces in slam bidding, and that one starts at four clubs and the other at 4NT. Beyond that, I'm confused. Why would a bidder use one over the ...
9
votes
7answers
1k views

Simplest bidding system for introduction into bridge

What is the best bidding system which can be used for teaching beginners (who never played bridge before)? I suspect that showing any complicated system, or asking to learn some long manual would ...
2
votes
1answer
118 views

Origin of Puppet Stayman

There are many variations, but I presume there was an initial original version of puppet stayman. Does anyone know who came up with it, and why it is named as such? (A google search has been ...
13
votes
4answers
1k views

Why are beginning to intermediate bridge players told to delay learning how to bid certain types of unusual hands?

When learning modern bidding (Standard American 5 card majors in my case), I noticed that the system's bidding techniques and common conventions described good ways of getting to a reasonable contract ...
0
votes
1answer
97 views

Interpreting bidding by partners

RHO: 1C --> LHO: 1S --> RHO: 2D Does this mean 4-4 in clubs/diamonds, or 5-4 in clubs diamonds. Is it a reverse? (e.g.18+ pts?). Assuming opponents play SAYC.
-1
votes
1answer
135 views

Analyzing bidding sequence

My left opponent opened 1S - Right-side opponent responded 2H (I understood: 11+, 4+ card heart suit, shortness in spades) - L.O. responded 2S - R.O. responded 3D (has shortness of spades). R.O. : 4 ...
5
votes
5answers
315 views

What are some good introductory rules to bridge?

I've tried to learn how to play bridge before, but there are so many variations (even on the Wikipedia page) that it's hard to keep track of everything and pin down exactly one way of playing it that ...
-1
votes
3answers
1k views

Is A Good time Make a “Penalty” Double When Your Defensive Tricks Exceed Your “Allowance”?

Most contracts are predicated on the supposition that the defenders will win some tricks. If game can be made with "26 points and eight trumps," this leaves 14 points and five trumps to the defenders ...
1
vote
3answers
235 views

Which Experts Seem to Interchange Trumps and Points in Bridge Bidding?

Most bridge players know that you can make a major suit game with combined partnership holdings of 26 points and eight trumps. (Plus the absence of "bad breaks" in trumps, finesses, etc.). My ...